
 

Frequently Asked Questions About Mandated 
Parent Education Seminars 

Based on Virginia Code requirements found in: 16.1-278.15 and 20-103 
 
 
Who must attend? 
The parties to any petition where child custody, visitation or support is contested.  
These parties may be the child’s natural or adoptive parents, or any other person with a 
legitimate interest as defined in Virginia Code 20-124.1. Definitions  

 
Why is a parent education seminar required? 
The period of separation or divorce is a difficult time for both children and parents. 
When parents are more aware of the effects of separation and divorce on their children 
and their parenting responsibilities, they will be more child-focused in the development 
of their parenting plans. This in turn leads to a greater willingness to explore mediation, 
rather than litigation, as a means of determining custody, visitation and support. 
Mediation, with its emphasis on communication and finding common ground, lends 
itself to a more effective co-parenting environment, as opposed to the bitterness that 
often follows litigation. 
 
When must I attend? 
Within the 12 months prior to your court appearance, or within 45 days thereafter. 
 
What exactly is a parent education seminar? 
A class that addresses, among other topics, the effects of separation or divorce on 
children, parenting responsibilities, options for conflict resolution and financial 
responsibilities. 

How long is the parenting seminar? 
A minimum of 4 hours. 
 

How much will I have to pay? 
Not more than $50.  The fee is based on your ability to pay, so it’s possible you will pay 
less. 
 
Who conducts the seminars? 
They are provided by qualified individuals or organizations approved by the Virginia 
Supreme Court’s Office of the Executive Secretary.  All providers must attend special 
training before they are eligible for approval. 
 
 
 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/16.1-278.15/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/20-103/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/20-124.1/


How do I find a seminar? 
All approved providers are listed here:  Parent Education (vacourts.gov)  See the information 

under “Find a Parent Education Seminar.”  Please note that all courts accept a 
certificate of completion from any approved provider regardless of location. 
 
Can I attend a seminar online, or do I need to attend in person? 
Many approved providers offer webinars, so you can attend from your own home, as 
long as you have a decent Internet connection.  You can find a list of seminars offered 
via webinar by clicking on the webpage link directly above. 
 
Do I still need to attend a seminar if I decide to try mediation? 
Yes.  In fact, parent education and mediation go hand-in-hand.  The Virginia Code 
specifically mentions that whenever possible, parties shall attend a parent education 
seminar before participating in mediation to resolve contested custody, visitation or 
support issues.  You can find out more about mediation here:  Mediation (vacourts.gov) 

 
I don’t have any communication with my child’s other parent. Do I still have 
to attend a seminar? 
Yes.  The focus of the seminar is on how you can help your children through effective 
co-parenting from separate homes.  The seminar will assist you and your co-parent in 
identifying new ways to communicate, while keeping your children out of the middle. 
 
Do I have to attend this seminar with my co-parent? 
No. You may attend the same seminar if you are comfortable doing so, but you may 
also attend separately. 
 
What if my co-parent does not attend the seminar? 
That is up to the judge.  In some courts, the judge may hold the party in contempt of 
court or impose other sanctions for failure to attend the seminar. 
 

There have never been any complaints about my parenting. Why do I need to 
take this seminar? 
The requirement to attend a seminar is not a judgment of your parenting ability. The 
seminar focuses on how parents can lessen the negative effects of separation and 
divorce on their children – a skill even the best parents need to learn. 
 
Is anything I say during the seminar admissible in court? 
No.  Nothing you say or ask during the seminar can be used as evidence during any 
subsequent court proceeding.  The only exceptions are statements by a party admitting 
to criminal activity, such as child abuse or neglect. 
 
 
 

https://www.vacourts.gov/courtadmin/aoc/djs/programs/parented/home.html
https://www.vacourts.gov/courtadmin/aoc/djs/programs/drs/mediation/home.html

