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Procedure for Approval as a Parent 
Education Seminar Provider 
 

General information 

Code sections 16.1-278.15 and 20-103 require parties to any petition where a child whose custody, 
visitation or support is contested to attend a seminar conducted by a qualified person or organization 
approved by the Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

Professional backgrounds to be considered for approval as a qualified provider include:   

• licensed/certified mental health 
practitioner 

• licensed clinical social worker  
• certified family mediator 
• licensed family law attorney 

• parenting coordinator 
• parent educator 
• clergy conducting marriage and family 

counseling  

Those meeting the professional requirements may find an application and instructions at  Parent 
Education Seminar Instructor Approval Request (vacourts.gov).    

If the applicant meets the qualifications for training, the applicant will be invited to attend a Train the 
Trainer session to learn how to offer Parent Education seminars in Virginia, including best practices, 
legal requirements, Parent Education policies, and more.  

If the applicant is joining an existing organization 

The application must observe a class conducted by a qualified provider in the organization they are 
joining following their Train the Trainer session. The applicant will be recorded as an approved instructor 
of PE seminars in Virginia. 

If the applicant is not joining an existing organization 

After attending a Train the Trainer session and observing a class conducted by a qualified provider, the 
applicant must develop or purchase a curriculum approved by the Parent Education Coordinator.  

Final steps and additional information 

After all qualifications have been met, applicants will be sent a provider profile. The provider profile will 
ask the applicant – among other things - to identify the court in which they wish to be listed on the DRS 
website, as well as a physical address within the jurisdiction of that court.  The Chief Judge and Clerk of 
Court of that court (Circuit and District) will be notified of the addition of a new parent education 
provider. 

Any applicant who does not conduct seminars within 12 months of attending a Train the Trainer session 
must repeat the training.  Likewise, any qualified provider who discontinues providing the seminars for 
more than 12 months must retake the Train the Trainer session before being returned to the website 
listing of qualified providers. 

https://www.vacourts.gov/courtadmin/aoc/djs/programs/parented/provider_info/pe_info_sheet.pdf
https://www.vacourts.gov/courtadmin/aoc/djs/programs/parented/provider_info/pe_info_sheet.pdf

