Supreme Court of Virginia

CHART OF ALLOWANCES

January 1, 2022

Supreme Court of Virginia

Office of the Executive Secretary
Department of Fiscal Services
804/786-6455
WWWw.courts.state.va.us




Policy Requiring the Timely Submission of Payment Requests

Applicability:

This Policy applies to all requests for payment submitted to the Office of the Executive
Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia, including, but not limited to, requests for payment
submitted by special justices, guardians ad litem, interpreters, mediators, court-appointed
counsel, court-appointed experts, substitute judges, retired judges and others.

Requirements:

All requests for payment of fees or for travel or other expenses must be submitted no later
than thirty (30) days after the service or the travel is completed. For court-appointed counsel,
each time limit is measured from the completion of all proceedings in the court for which the
request is being submitted. See Va. Code § 19.2-163.

If a request for payment is submitted more than thirty (30) days after the service or the
travel is completed, the Office of the Executive Secretary may require additional documentation.

All requests for payment, whether initially submitted to the court or, as appropriate, to the
Office of the Executive Secretary, and any additional documentation required, must be received
by the Office of the Executive Secretary within twenty-four (24) months of the date on which the
service or the travel is completed. The person submitting the payment request is responsible for
ensuring that the request is received by the Office of the Executive Secretary within the twenty-
four (24) month period. If necessary, the person submitting the payment request should contact
the Office of the Executive Secretary in writing before the end of the twenty-four month period.
Any such inquiry may be sent to: Office of the Executive Secretary, Supreme Court of Virginia,
Attn. Fiscal Department, 100 N. 9™ Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. NO PAYMENT WILL
ISSUE AFTER 24 MONTHS FROM THE DATE ON WHICH THE SERVICE OR TRAVEL
IS COMPLETED.

Waiver Funds:

Virginia Code 8 19.2-163 provides that if at any time the funds allocated for the waivers
are exhausted, the Executive Secretary is to certify that fact to the courts, and no additional
waivers may be approved. Waiver funds are appropriated annually and typically are exhausted
before the end of the year. Therefore, it is important that applications for fee cap waivers be
submitted in the same year the service is performed and as early as possible since payment is
subject to the availability of funds appropriated for that year.

Hourly Rate for Court-Appointed Counsel

Unless otherwise specified, the Supreme Court of Virginia’s established rate of up to $90
per hour (in and out of court) for court-appointed counsel shall apply. Time shall be recorded in
increments not greater than .10 hour (6 minutes). The hourly rate for court appointed counsel,
including guardians ad litem, is considered to include staff time and office overhead. Therefore,
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court appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem, should not bill for staff time or office
overhead, unless it is expressly authorized by law.
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Per Statutory

Code Section Description Diem Limit

8.01-9 Guardian ad litem for defendant under a disability in a civil
action.

Note: Payment out of the criminal fund of fees and expenses of
a guardian ad litem for a defendant under a disability in a civil
action is authorized only in certain, limited situations, specifically
when:

(1) inacivil action against an incarcerated felon for divorce
where the felon is incarcerated as a result of a crime
committed against the felon’s spouse, child, or stepchild and
involving physical injury, sexual assault, or sexual abuse (as
set forth in the statute);

(2) in a civil action against an incarcerated felon for damages
arising out of a criminal act (as set forth in the statute); or

(3) acourtin a divorce action has made specific findings that
both the plaintiff and the defendant are indigent and that the
defendant is a person under a disability as defined in § 8.01-
2, and based upon those findings, the court has determined
that payment of the guardian ad litem out of the criminal
fund is required as a matter of law. Court order indicating
that plaintiff and defendant are both indigent and that
defendant is a person under a disability is required.

(4) In a civil action to enter an interdiction order pursuant to
84.1-333 when the respondent is indigent and a “person
under a disability” as defined by §8.01-2.

The Supreme Court of Virginia’'s established rate of up to
$75/hour in court and $55/hour out of court for guardians ad
litem applies. Time shall be recorded in increments not greater
than .10 hour (6 minutes). The hourly rate for court appointed
counsel, including guardians ad litem, is considered to include
staff time and office overhead. Therefore, court appointed
counsel, including guardians ad litem, should not bill for staff
time or office overhead, unless it is expressly authorized by law.
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Code Section

Per

Description Diem

Statutory
Limit

8.01-384.1

Interpreters for the speech-impaired or hearing-impaired in civil
proceedings

Note: Certified interpreters under contract with the Department
for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing who provide services to any
Virginia state court must submit the required paperwork directly
to that Department. DO NOT SUBMIT ON FORM DC-40.
DEPARTMENT OF DEAF AND HARD-OF-HEARING WILL
SUBMIT.

8.01-384.1:1

Interpreters for non-English-speaking persons in civil cases.
Submit Form DC-44 List of Allowances-Interpreter

See Judicial Council Guidelines (copy available online at:
http://www.courts.state.va.us/courtadmin/aoc/djs/programs/
interpreters/manuals/lep/chapter08/pdf.

Note: Requests for foreign language translations of written
materials should be submitted to the Foreign Language Services
Coordinator at the Office of the Executive Secretary to determine
whether a staff or contract interpreter/translator is available, prior
to arranging for translation services by another provider.

16.1-241 (W)

Counsel-petition for judicial authorization for abortion
Guardian ad litem-petition for judicial authorization for abortion

The Supreme Court of Virginia’'s established rate of up to
$75/hour in court and $55/hour out of court for guardians ad
litem applies. Time shall be recorded in increments not greater
than .10 hour (6 minutes). The hourly rate for court appointed
counsel, including guardians ad litem, is considered to include
staff time and office overhead. Therefore, court appointed
counsel, including guardians ad litem, should not bill for staff
time or office overhead, unless it is expressly authorized by law.

$120.00

Chart of Allowances
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Code Section

Per

Description Diem

Statutory
Limit

16.1-267

Court-appointed attorney J&DR

Guardian ad litem J&DR: The Supreme Court of Virginia's
established rate of up to $75/hour in court and $55/hour out of
court for guardians ad litem applies. Time spent in face-to-face
contact with the child being represented shall be compensated at
the in-court rate and included as part of the entry of the in-court
time recorded on form DC-40. (§ 16.1-274) Time shall be
recorded in increments not greater than .10 hour (6 minutes).
The in-court rate applies for time spent in contact with the child
by telephone or audio-video communication when a child is
placed in a residential facility that does not allow in-person visits
and otherwise when the judge determines that in-person contact
is not feasible.

The hourly rate for court appointed counsel, including guardians
ad litem, is considered to include staff time and office overhead.
Therefore, court appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem,
should not bill for staff time or office overhead, unless it is
expressly authorized by law.

Requests by an attorney who serves as a guardian ad litem for a
child for reimbursement submitted on a DC-40 for out of court
time and costs associated with administering or overseeing drug
tests performed after June 30, 2014 cannot be approved for
payment from the Criminal Fund.

See attached court-appointed counsel fee cap waiver information
and instructions

$120.00

16.1-276

Out-of-state witness - compensation of travel expenses

.585/mile

Chart of Allowances
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Code Section

Per

Description Diem

Statutory
Limit

16.1-299.1

Blood sample required for DNA analysis upon conviction or
adjudication of felony (Juvenile).

Note: A juvenile convicted of a felony or adjudicated

delinquent on the basis of an act which would be a felony if
committed by an adult shall have a sample of his blood taken for
DNA analysis provided the juvenile was fourteen years of age or
older at the time of the commission of the offense.

The Criminal Fund will reimburse only when:

(1) The defendant has been convicted of a felony or adjudicated
delinquent on the basis of an act which would be a felony if
committed by an adult, but was not sentenced to a period of
confinement (e.g., was placed on probation or on suspended
execution of sentence or

(2) The convicted juvenile was remanded to the custody of the
sheriff solely for the purpose of blood withdrawal, but the
sheriff does not have the resources available, contracted or
on staff, and must secure the services of a private provider
to conduct the withdrawal.

Form DC-40 must be accompanied by Form CC-1390.

16.1-361

Compensation of Experts - J&DR Competency
Court appearance - Witness Fee, Mileage

(1) Evaluation of Competency to Stand Trial (Guidelines
established by the Supreme Court of Virginia after
consultation with the Department of Behavioral Health and
Development Services)

(2) Court Appearance - Witness Fee (plus mileage at ./mile)

Note: Pursuantto 816.1-357, the Commissioner of Behavioral

Health and Developmental Services arranges for court-ordered
services to restore competency, which are not payable from the
Criminal Fund.

$400.00

$100.00

17.1-611

Chart of Allowances

Witness for the Commonwealth

Mileage and Tolls Only
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Per Statutory

Code Section Description Diem Limit
17.1-612 Expert Witness
Court order and itemized invoice required
17.1-618 Juror per diem (Includes travel expenses) $30.00
(Use Form DC-43)
18.2-252 Suspended sentence conditioned upon substance abuse
screening and testing
18.2-254 Commitment of convicted person for treatment for drug or
alcohol abuse (substance abuse screening and testing)
18.2-268.8 DUI — Withdrawal of blood by Commonwealth or local office $25.00
18.2-346.1 Testing of persons convicted of prostitution or certain drug
offenses for sexually transmitted infections when requested by
the defendant
19.2-70.2 Pen register or trap and trace device (expenses of providing
facilities and assistance)
19.2-112 Extradition allowance expenses

(Submit on a Travel Expense Reimbursement Voucher)

Chart of Allowances
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Code Section

Per

Description Diem

Statutory
Limit

19.2-152.12

Required representation for respondent in protective order
proceeding under Chapter 9.1 of Title 19.2 (§19.2-152.7:1
through 19.2-152.12).

The Criminal Fund will compensate for the representation of a
respondent in an applicable protective order proceeding only
when:

(1) Counsel is required pursuant to the Servicemembers Civil
Relief Act (88.01-15.2), or

(2) A guardian ad litem is required because respondent is a
“person under a disability” as defined by §8.01-2 (see §8.01-
9).

Compensation as either counsel or a guardian ad litem is limited
in district court to a cap of $120 and in circuit court to a cap of
$158, since the statute provides that “the court may order such
counsel or guardian ad litem to be compensated for services
pursuant to 819.2-163.”

19.2-155

Appointment of substitute for Commonwealth Attorney

Use 819.2-332 as the authorizing Code section from the Chart of
Allowance on Form DC-40. Attach copy of appointment order.
The Supreme Court of Virginia’'s established rate of up to
$90/hour in and out of court applies. Time shall be recorded in
increments not greater than .10 hour (6 minutes). The hourly rate
for court appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem, is
considered to include staff time and office overhead. Therefore,
court appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem, should not
bill for staff time or office overhead, unless it is expressly
authorized by law.

Copy of Executive Secretary’s approval required for the
appointment of a special prosecutor.

Chart of Allowances
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Code Section Description DFi)grrn Statllj_ti(;:i{
19.2-163 Court-appointed attorney:
District Court* $120.00
District Court - preliminary hearing aggravated murder (Class Set by Court**
1 felony)
Circuit Court — aggravated murder (Class 1 felony) Set by Court**
Circuit Court - felony punishable by more than 20 years $1,235.00
Circuit Court - all other felonies $445.00
Circuit Court - misdemeanor punishable by confinement in jail $158.00

Chart of Allowances

See related court-appointed counsel fee cap waiver information
and instructions on pages 12-13

Note:

(1) *If felony charge for adult in juvenile court or general district
court is disposed of in the district court, then circuit court
felony rates apply. Felony class or possible punishment, if
the felony is unclassified, must be indicated.

(2) For revocation of probation - indicate 819.2-306 as the
original code section charged; note either felony or
misdemeanor and the highest class of the original charges.
Payment is allowed on the basis of only one charge. For
example, if a defendant who is on probation for 5 charges
were subject to a probation revocation proceeding, the
court-appointed attorney would be reimbursed for only 1
charge --- the probation revocation. The fee cap in this
example would be determined based on the highest fee cap
of the original five charges.
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Code Section

Per

Description Diem

Statutory
Limit

Chart of Allowances

®3)

(4)

©®)

(6)

Guardian ad litem or Juvenile Appeal must be indicated.
The Supreme Court of Virginia’s established rate of up to
$75/hour in court and $55/hour out of court for guardians ad
litem applies. Time shall be recorded in increments not
greater than .10 hour (6 minutes). The fee for counsel
appointed pursuant to 816.1-266 to represent a parent or
guardian in a civil matter is up to $120 in J&DR court and up
to $158 in circuit court. The hourly rate for court appointed
counsel, including guardians ad litem, is considered to
include staff time and office overhead. Therefore, court
appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem, should not
bill for staff time or office overhead, unless it is expressly
authorized by law.

Authorization for payment out of the criminal fund of a
guardian ad litem appointed in a circuit court is limited to an
appeal from J&DR court and appointment of the guardian ad
litem under §16.1-266.

If a jJudge concludes that counsel for an indigent respondent
in a civil contempt proceeding for failure to pay child support
is constitutionally required by the holding in Turner v.
Rogers, 131 S. Ct. 2507, 2011 U.S. LEXIS 4566 (2011), an
attorney may be appointed for a fee of up to $120 in J&DR
court and up to $158 in circuit court.

Court order indicating that the respondent is indigent
and that due process requires the appointment must be
submitted with Form DC-40.

Payment for psychological evaluations and drug testing in
custody matters pursuant to §16.1-278.15 is not authorized.
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Code Section

Description

Per Statutory

Diem

Limit

(7)

(8)

Counsel representing a defendant charged with a Class 1
felony (aggravated murder) may submit to the court on a
monthly basis, a statement of all costs incurred and fees
charged by him in the case during that month. Whenever the
total charges are deemed reasonable by the court for which
payment has not previously been made or requested exceed
$1,000, the court may direct that payment be made.
Completed District Court Form DC-334 (Request for
Appointment of a Lawyer) indicating "Aggravated Murder" or
Circuit Court Order must be attached when submitting
voucher for reimbursement.

*The Supreme Court of Virginia has established separate
hourly rates for aggravated murder of up to $150 per
hour in court and $120 per hour out of court.

Representation by a court appointed attorney of a defendant
with regard to an ancillary misdemeanor certified to circuit
court along with a felony under Va. Code §19.2-190.1 is
eligible for compensation of up to $120 for each
misdemeanor. Because that portion of the representation
for the ancillary misdemeanor does not involve the
conclusion of the matter, that representation of the ancillary
misdemeanor in district court is not eligible for further
compensation under the waiver provision of §19.2-163.

Chart of Allowances
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Code Section

Per

Description Diem

Statutory
Limit

19.2-164

Interpreters for non-English speaking persons in criminal cases
Submit Form DC-44 List of Allowances-Interpreter
See Judicial Council Guidelines (copy available online at:

http://www.courts.state.va.us/courtadmin/aoc/djs/programs/
interpreters/manuals/lep/chapter08.pdf)

Note: Requests for foreign language translations of written
materials should be submitted to the Foreign Language Services
Coordinator at the Office of the Executive Secretary to determine
whether a staff or contract interpreter/translator is available, prior
to arranging for translation services by another provider.

19.2-164.1

Interpreters for speech impaired or hearing impaired in criminal
cases

Note: Certified interpreters under contract with the Department
for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing who provide services to any
Virginia state court must submit the required paperwork directly
to that Department. DO NOT SUBMIT ON FORM DC-40.
DEPARTMENT OF DEAF AND HARD-OF-HEARING WILL
SUBMIT.

19.2-165.1

Medical fees for gathering evidence

Request for reimbursement for sexual assault-related PERK or
forensic examinations should be submitted to the Criminal
Injuries Compensation Fund Payment Coordinator (P O Box
26927 Richmond VA 23261)

Request for reimbursement for forensic examinations for any
other authorized purpose should be submitted by the
Commonwealth’s Attorney or designated victim/witness
coordinator to the Supreme Court of Virginia.

19.2-166

Court reporters

Invoice required for any amount over $500 for one defendant.

Chart of Allowances
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Code Section Description F_’er Statu'gory
Diem Limit
19.2-175 Compensation of Experts
(1) Evaluation of Competency to Stand Trial $400.00
(2) Evaluation of Mental Status at the Time of Offense (MSO) $500.00
(3) Evaluation of Mental Status at the Time of the Offense and $750.00
Competency to Stand Trial
(4) Pre-sentence Evaluation $400.00
(5) Court Appearance - Witness fee (plus mileage at .585/mile) $100/day
(6) Revocation of Conditional Release (819.2-182.8)- $500.00
Evaluation of Acquitee
Note:
(DThe Supreme Court of Virginia has established the fees listed
above as the maximum amount allowed for each evaluation.
Form DC-40 MUST identify the service rendered by using the
above description or item number.
(iCourt-ordered services to restore competency are not payable
from the Criminal Fund.
19.2-182 Attorney fee in proceeding for commitment (criminal) $150.00
19.2-211 Counsel for special grand jury

The Supreme Court of Virginia has established a rate of up to
$90/hour (in and out of court) for non-government attorneys
appointed under this code section. Time shall be recorded in
increments not greater than .10 hour (6 minutes). The hourly rate
for court appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem, is
considered to include staff time and office overhead. Therefore,
court appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem, should not
bill for staff time or office overhead, unless it is expressly
authorized by law.

Chart of Allowances
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Code Section Description F_’er Statu'gory
Diem Limit
19.2-215 Costs of multi-jurisdiction grand jury (services provided)
Note: Pursuant to §19.2-205, costs for grand juror per diem and
mileage shall be paid from local funds.
19.2-269.1 Services of sheriff for appearance of inmate as witness (circuit
court only)
19.2-301 Mental Examination - Sexual Abnormality (rates established by $600.00
the Supreme Court of Virginia)
19.2-310.2 DNA analysis (blood withdrawal) Form CC-1390 required
(1) The defendant has been convicted of a felony, convicted of a
violation of §18.2-67.4, 18.2-67.4:2, 18.2-67.5(C), 18.2-130
or 18.2-370.6, or adjudicated delinquent on the basis of an
act which would be a felony if committed by an adult, but was
not sentenced to a period of confinement (e.g., was placed
on probation or on suspended execution of sentence, or the
sentence was suspended) or
(2) The convicted juvenile was remanded to the custody of the
sheriff who does not have the resources available,
contracted or on staff, and must have the withdrawal
conducted by an outside private source.
19.2-326 Indigent appeals attorney fee and expenses of appellate court Set by
filing Appellate
Court
Note: Appellate court order required for all appeal-related fees
and expenses, including printing or briefs.
19.2-327.1 Court-appointed attorney-Scientific investigation of human
biological evidence
Compensation is limited according to the caps set for
under Va. Code § 19.2-163 (see above).
19.2-330 Out-of-state witness-compensation of travel expenses .585/mile

Chart of Allowances
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Per Statutory

Code Section Description Diem Limit

19.2-332 Miscellaneous compensable services in a criminal case required
by law or court order prior to the service for which no specific
compensation is provided

(Court order or other authority required with Form DC-40)

Chart of Allowances -15- January 2022



Code Section

Description

Per
Diem

Statutory
Limit

19.2-386.12B

Sale of forfeited property (Actual expenses shall be paid out the
net proceeds. If there are no proceeds or any amount in excess
of the proceeds shall be paid by the Criminal Fund.)

20-49.3

Blood tests for paternity - HLA blood test (indigent party)
(BLOODS TESTS FOR SUPPORT CASES INVOLVING
DIVISION OF CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT (DCSE) NOT
PAID BY CRIMINAL FUND - CONTACT DCSE)

20-115

Commitment and sentence for failure to comply with order or
decree (payment for court-appointed counsel authorized
pursuant to 819.2-163)

J&DR District Court
Circuit Court

$120.00
$158.00

20-124.4

Mediation

Form DC-40 must be accompanied by Form DC-604.

(Any referral that includes both (i) custody or visitation and
(ii) child or spousal support shall be considered two separate
appointments.)

$120.00

Per Appointment

Mediated

32.1-48.03

Court-appointed counsel fee for isolation hearing upon petition in
general district court; temporary detention (plus necessary
expenses)

$75.00

32.1-48.04

Court-appointed counsel fee for isolation hearing upon appeal to
circuit court (plus necessary expenses)

$150.00

Chart of Allowances
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37.2-906

Sexually Violent Predator - Court-appointed attorney

The Supreme Court of Virginia has established a rate of up to
$90/hour in and out of court, with cap of $5,000 for a bench trial
or $6,000 for a jury trial. Time shall be recorded in increments
not greater than .10 hour (6 minutes). The hourly rate for court
appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem, is considered to
include staff time and office overhead. Therefore, court
appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem, should not bill
for staff time or office overhead, unless it is expressly authorized
by law.

Chart of Allowances
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Code Section

Per

Description Diem

Statutory
Limit

37.2-907

Sexually Violent Predator - Appointment of Experts

Statutory cap for evaluation is $5,000; however, pursuant to
statutory direction, after consultation with the Department of
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, the Supreme
Court has established a guideline of $2,500 for a typical
evaluation.

This amount does not include daily fee for appearance as
witness ($750) or allowance for mileage (.585/mile).

Daily fee for required appearance in court as witness.

$750.00

46.2-301.1

Administrative impoundment of motor vehicle

There are three situations in which there is a statutory
authorization for reimbursement by the Commonwealth of
Virginia. No reimbursement from the Criminal Fund

will be made unless Form DC-40 has been submitted with the
following supporting documentation:

(1) A bill from the storage company or a receipt from the person
who incurred the cost of impoundment, and

(2) Either a copy of the court order, Form DC-499, with the block
checked: "No probable cause for arrest or warrant” or else a
copy of the underlying charge reflecting the dismissal of the
charge, a reduced charge or an acquittal.

(3) Indication that a lien holder repossesses or removes vehicle
from storage pursuant to security agreement.

46.2-1209

Chart of Allowances

Unattended or immobile vehicle (daily towing, storage and
recovery fees when identity of violator unknown or no violation)
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Code Section

Per

Description Diem

Statutory
Limit

53.1-40

Court-appointed attorney for consultation with indigent prisoners

Approved Rate (2014 Appropriations Act) — Up to $55/hour with
a maximum per diem compensation of $200 except in cases
where the appointed attorney is appointed to represent indigent
prisoners at more than one state prison, and in such cases their
billing shall be capped monthly at $6,000.

Number of inmates consulted must be attached. Time shall be
recorded in increments not greater than .10 hour (6 minutes).
The hourly rate for court appointed counsel, including guardians
ad litem, is considered to include staff time and office overhead.
Therefore, court appointed counsel, including guardians ad litem,
should not bill for staff time or office overhead, unless it is
expressly authorized by law.

53.1-165

Revocation of parole, or post release supervision of felon

53.1-205

Felonies by prisoners

53.1-210

Agreement on Detainer and transportation of an out- of-state
witness who is a prisoner in another state.

Original receipts required. Form VI or other authority from the
Attorney General or court order required.

63.2-1203

Chart of Allowances

Court-appointed attorney for birth parent withholding consent to
adoption

Guardian ad litem for birth parent under a disability or for child:
charge the parties (state will not pay)

Court order indicating that birth parent is indigent is required.

$158.00
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Code Section

Per

Description Diem

Statutory
Limit

63.2-1609

Guardian ad litem - Emergency order for protective services —
indigent adult only

The Supreme Court of Virginia’s established rate of up to
$75/hour in court and $55/hour out of court for guardians ad
litem applies. Time shall be recorded in increments not greater
than .10 hour (6 minutes). The hourly rate for court appointed
counsel, including guardians ad litem, is considered to include
staff time and office overhead. Therefore, court appointed
counsel, including guardians ad litem, should not bill for staff
time or office overhead, unless it is expressly authorized by law.

64.2-2008

Guardians and Conservators (fees and costs)

The Supreme Court of Virginia’'s established rate of up to
$75/hour in court and $55/hour out of court for guardians ad
litem applies. Time shall be recorded in increments not greater
than .10 hour (6 minutes).) The hourly rate for court appointed
counsel, including guardians ad litem, is considered to include
staff time and office overhead. Therefore, court appointed
counsel, including guardians ad litem, should not bill for staff
time or office overhead, unless it is expressly authorized by law.

Court order indicating that incapacitated person is indigent
required.

Payment by Commonwealth of petitioner’s attorney’s fees is not
authorized.

State Budget

Habeas Corpus

All expenses must be itemized. Number of miles traveled must
be specified. Receipts required where applicable.

Chart of Allowances
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General Information and Instructions

Section 19.2-163 of the Code of Virginia provides the following fees for court-appointed

counsel:
Court Charge* Statutory Supplemental Fee for Additional
Fee Statutory Waiver Waiver
Amount
District Misdemeanor $120 Up to $120 Discretion of Court
Juvenile and Delinquency —
Domes[;cius:trRistlatlons MIiEs%Lg\r;aézTo:Oo r $120 Up to $120 Discretion of Court
Felony, Class Il to VI
Juvenile and Delinquency —
Domestic Relations | Equivalent to Felony,
District Class I, or Probation $120 Up to $650 Discretion of Court
Violation for Felony,
Class 11
District Felony, Class Il to VI
resolved in District $445 Up to $155 Discretion of Court
Court
District Felony, Class II,
resolved in District $1,235 Up to $850 Discretion of Court
Court
Circuit Misdemeanor $158 Not Available Discretion of Court
Circuit Delinquency $158 Not Available Discretion of Court
Circuit Felony, Class Ill to VI $445 Up to $155 Discretion of Court
Circuit Felony, Class Il $1,235 Up to $850 Discretion of Court
*Defense of an unclassified felony punishable by 20 years or less is compensated as a Felony class 111 or 1V
felony; by more than 20 years as a Class IlI.

Fee waivers may only be approved by the court in which the case is concluded.

The General Assembly has authorized the above schedule for compensation for an attorney
appointed by the court in a case other than a Class 1 felony. If co-counsel (more than one
attorney) is appointed to represent a defendant at the same time, then co-counsel shall share
the statutory fee, supplemental statutory waiver amount, and fee for additional waiver permitted
for one attorney. In the circuit court, court-appointed counsel who is granted leave of court to
withdraw and who terminates the representation prior to conclusion of the case, is eligible for
the statutory fee and the supplemental statutory waiver amount but is ineligible for a fee for
additional waiver.

Upon submission by counsel of a detailed accounting of time expended for court-appointed
representation, ! the court in its discretion and subject to guidelines issued by the Executive

Time shall be recorded in increments not greater than .10 hour (6 minutes). The hourly rate for court appointed counsel, including
guardians ad litem, is considered to include staff time and office overhead. Therefore, court appointed counsel, including guardians
ad litem, should not bill for staff time or office overhead, unless it is expressly authorized by law.
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Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia may waive the limitation of the statutory fee and
authorize additional compensation up to the supplemental statutory waiver amount when the
effort expended by counsel, the time reasonably necessary for the particular representation, the
novelty and difficulty of the issues, or other circumstances warrant such a waiver.

Counsel may also request additional compensation exceeding these amounts by submitting a
written request with a detailed accounting of the time spent 2 and justification for the additional
amount. The presiding judge shall determine, subject to guidelines issued by the Executive
Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia, whether this request for additional compensation
above the supplemental statutory waiver amount is justified, in whole or part, by considering the
effort expended and time reasonably necessary for the particular representation, and, if so, shall
forward the request as approved to the chief judge of the circuit court or district court for
approval.

If both the presiding judge and the chief judge determine that an additional amount is justified
based upon the novelty, difficulty, effort expended and time required for the particular
representation and they approve a fee for such an additional waiver amount greater than:

e $2,000 in any district court,

e $3,000 in any circuit court misdemeanor or circuit delinquency charge,

e $5,000 in any circuit court felony, class Il to VI charge, or

e $15,000 in any circuit court felony class Il charge,
then such request for an additional waiver amount in excess of the foregoing amounts shall be
submitted by the Chief Judge to the Office of the Executive Secretary, with the DC-40A and all
supporting documentation, and upon review by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, may be
paid in full, or, in lieu of full payment, be approved for a partial payment. Partial payments shall
be made only in the event the Chief Justice finds such partial payment is necessary to promote
the equitable distribution of waiver funds through the end of the fiscal year.

These procedures are in addition to guidelines posted at
http://www.courts.state.va.us/forms/district/statutory criteria fee cap waiver guidelines.pdf

The payment approval process,? including review and approval of invoices by the Office of the
Executive Secretary, is a function of the Supreme Court of Virginia's oversight of the judiciary's
budget and management of funds, including the Criminal Fund. Fee waivers are paid from a
finite appropriation allocated to the fiscal year. The foregoing process is necessary to facilitate
the fair distribution of funds as provided for in the Code of Virginia and the Budget.*

There is no appeal process available if an application for waiver of fee caps is denied.
Additionally, if at any time the funds appropriated to pay for waivers become insufficient, the

2 Time shall be recorded in increments not greater than .10 hour (6 minutes). The hourly rate for court appointed counsel, including
guardians ad litem, is considered to include staff time and office overhead. Therefore, court appointed counsel, including guardians
ad litem, should not bill for staff time or office overhead, unless it is expressly authorized by law.

3 See Virginia Code § 2.2-810.

4 See Item 35 of the 2018-20 Biennial Budget.
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http://www.courts.state.va.us/forms/district/statutory_criteria_fee_cap_waiver_guidelines.pdf

Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia shall so certify to the courts and no further
waivers shall be approved or paid.
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