
                   Friday       26th          August, 2005. 

 
On March 7, 2005 came the Virginia State Bar, by David P. 

Bobzien, its President, and Thomas A. Edmonds, its Executive 

Director and Chief Operating Officer, and presented to the Court a 

petition, approved by the Council of the Virginia State Bar, praying 

that Paragraph 13, Section IV, of the Rules for Integration of the 

Virginia State Bar, Part Six of the Rules of Court, be amended to 

read as follows: 

 

13.  Procedure for Disciplining, Suspending, and Disbarring 

Attorneys. 

 * * * 

I.  Board Proceedings 

* * * 

8.  Reinstatement 

* * * 

b. After Revocation 

* * * 

(2) After a Revocation, Petitioner’s License to practice law 

shall not be reinstated unless the Petitioner proves by clear and 

convincing evidence that Petitioner: within five years prior to 

filing the petition has attended 60 hours of continuing legal 

education, of which at least ten hours shall be in the area of legal 

ethics or professionalism; has taken the Multistate Professional 

Responsibility Examination and received a scaled score of 85 or 

higher; has reimbursed the Bar’s Clients’ Protection Fund for any 

sums of money it may have paid as a result of Petitioner’s 

Misconduct; has paid the Bar all Costs that have been previously 

assessed against Petitioner, together with any interest due thereon 

at the judgment rate; has reimbursed the Bar for any sums of money 
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it may have paid as a result of a receivership involving 

Petitioner’s law practice; and is a person of honest demeanor and 

good moral character and possesses the requisite fitness to practice 

law. The Petitioner shall post with his or her petition for 

Reinstatement a $3,500 cash bond for payment of Costs resulting from 

the Reinstatement Proceedings. At the conclusion of the 

Reinstatement Proceeding, the Board or the Clerk of the Disciplinary 

System shall determine the Costs associated with such proceeding and 

submit that determination to the clerk of this Court as part of the 

Board’s findings of fact. 

 
 * * * 

c. After Disciplinary Suspension for More than One Year 

After a Suspension for more than one year, the License of the 

Attorney subject to the Suspension shall not be reinstated unless 

the Attorney demonstrates to the Board that he or she: has attended 

12 hours of continuing legal education, of which at least two hours 

shall be in the area of legal ethics or professionalism, for every 

year or fraction thereof of the Suspension; has taken the Multistate 

Professional Responsibility Examination since imposition of 

discipline and received a scaled score of 85 or higher; has 

reimbursed the Bar’s Clients’ Protection Fund for any sums of money 

it may have paid as a result of the Attorney’s Misconduct; has paid 

to the Bar all Costs that have been assessed against him or her, 

together with any interest due thereon at the judgment rate at the 

time the Costs are paid; and has reimbursed the Bar for any sums of 

money it may have paid as a result of a receivership involving 

Petitioner’s law practice 

* * * 

 Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered that the Rules for 

Integration of the Virginia State Bar, Part Six of the Rules of 
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Court, be and the same hereby are amended in accordance with the 

prayer of the petition aforesaid, effective September 1, 2005. 

             
                           A Copy, 

 
      Teste: 
 
 
 
        Clerk 
 


