
                   Friday        13th          April, 2007. 

 
On March 7, 2007 came the Virginia State Bar, by Karen A. 

Gould, its President, and Thomas A. Edmonds, its Executive Director 

and Chief Operating Officer, and presented to the Court a petition, 

approved by the Council of the Virginia State Bar, praying that 

Paragraph 19, Section IV, of the Rules for Integration of the 

Virginia State Bar, Part Six of the Rules of Court, be amended to 

read as follows: 

 
19. Procedure for the Administrative Suspension of a Member. 

 

 Whenever it appears that a member of the Virginia State Bar has 

failed to comply with any of the Rules of Court relating to such 

person's membership in the bar, the Secretary-Treasurer shall mail a 

notice to the member advising of the member's noncompliance and 

demanding (1) compliance within sixty (60) days of the date of such 

notice and (2) payment of a delinquency fee of $50, for each Rule 

violated, provided, however, that the delinquency fee for an 

attorney who does not comply with the timely completion requirements 

of Paragraphs 13.2 and 17(C) of these rules shall be $100, and the 

delinquency fee for an attorney who does not comply with the 

certification requirements of Paragraphs 13.2 and 17(D) of these 

rules shall be $100.  The notice shall be mailed by certified mail 

to the member at his last address on file at the Virginia State Bar.  
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In the event the member fails to comply with the directive of  

the Secretary-Treasurer within the time allowed, the Secretary- 

Treasurer will then mail a notice to the member by certified mail  

to advise (1) that the attorney's membership in the bar has been 

suspended and (2) that the attorney may no longer practice law in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia or in any way hold himself or herself 

out as a member of the Virginia State Bar.  Thereafter the 

attorney's membership in the Virginia State Bar may be reinstated 

only upon showing to the Secretary-Treasurer (1) that the attorney 

has complied with all the Court's rules relating to his or her 

membership in the bar and (2) upon payment of a reinstatement fee of 

$150 for each Rule violated, provided, however, that the 

reinstatement fee for an attorney who was suspended for 

noncompliance with Paragraphs 13.2 and 17 of these rules shall be 

$250, and shall increase by $50 for each subsequent such suspension, 

not to exceed a maximum of $500. 

Whenever the Secretary-Treasurer notifies a member that his or 

her membership in the bar has been administratively suspended, the 

Secretary-Treasurer shall also (1) advise the Chief Judges of the 

circuit and district in which the attorney has his or her office, as 

well as the clerks of those courts and the Clerk of the Supreme 

Court, of such suspension and (2) publish notice of the suspension 

in the next issue of the Virginia Lawyer Register. 

An administrative suspension shall not relieve the delinquent 

member of his or her annual responsibility to attend continuing 

legal education programs or to pay his or her dues to the Virginia 

State Bar. 
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Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered that the Rules for 

Integration of the Virginia State Bar, Part Six of the Rules of 

Court, be and the same hereby are amended in accordance with the 

prayer of the petition aforesaid, effective July 1, 2007. 

 
     A Copy, 
 
      Teste: 
 
 
 
        Clerk 


