
                   Friday        29th          May, 2009. 

 
On March 23, 2009 came the Virginia State Bar, by Manuel A. 

Capsalis, its President, and Karen A. Gould, its Executive Director 

and Chief Operating Officer, and presented to the Court a petition, 

approved by the Council of the Virginia State Bar, praying that 

Paragraph 19, Section IV, of the Rules for Integration of the 

Virginia State Bar, Part Six of the Rules of Court, be amended to 

read as follows: 

 

19.  Procedure for the Administrative Suspension of a Member. 

 Whenever it appears that a member of the Virginia State Bar 

has failed to comply with any of the Rules of Court relating to 

such person's membership in the bar, the Secretary-Treasurer shall 

mail a notice to the member advising of the member's noncompliance 

and demanding (1) compliance within sixty (60) days of the date of 

such notice and (2) payment of a delinquency fee of $50, for each 

Rule violated, provided, however, that the delinquency fee for an 

attorney who does not comply with the timely completion 

requirements of Paragraphs 13.2 and 17(C) of these rules shall be 

$100, and the delinquency fee for an attorney who does not comply 

with the certification requirements of Paragraphs 13.2 and 17(D) of 

these rules shall be $100, and shall increase by $100 on February 1 

for noncompliance with the certification requirements.  The notice 

shall be mailed to the member at his last address on file at the 

Virginia State Bar.  

In the event the member fails to comply with the directive of 

the Secretary-Treasurer within the time allowed, the Secretary-

Treasurer will then mail a notice to the member by certified mail 

to advise (1) that the attorney's membership in the bar has been 
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suspended and (2) that the attorney may no longer practice law in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia or in any way hold himself or herself 

out as a member of the Virginia State Bar.  Thereafter the 

attorney's membership in the Virginia State Bar may be reinstated 

only upon showing to the Secretary-Treasurer (1) that the attorney 

has complied with all the Court's rules relating to his or her 

membership in the bar and (2) upon payment of a reinstatement fee 

of $150 for each Rule violated, provided, however, that the 

reinstatement fee for an attorney who was suspended for 

noncompliance with Paragraphs 13.2 and 17 of these rules shall be 

$250, and shall increase by $50 for each subsequent such 

suspension, not to exceed a maximum of $500. 

Whenever the Secretary-Treasurer notifies a member that his or 

her membership in the bar has been administratively suspended, the 

Secretary-Treasurer shall also (1) advise the Chief Judges of the 

circuit and district in which the attorney has his or her office, 

as well as the clerks of those courts and the Clerk of the Supreme 

Court of Virginia, of such suspension and (2) publish notice of the 

suspension in the next issue of the Virginia Lawyer Register. 

An administrative suspension shall not relieve the delinquent 

member of his or her annual responsibility to attend continuing 

legal education programs or to pay his or her dues to the Virginia 

State Bar. 

Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered that the Rules for 

Integration of the Virginia State Bar, Part Six of the Rules of  
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Court, be and the same hereby are amended in accordance with the 

prayer of the petition aforesaid, effective August 1, 2009. 

 
     A Copy, 
 
      Teste: 
 
 
 
        Clerk 


