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CERTIFICATE OF REFUSAL – BREATH/BLOOD TEST (COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE) 
Commonwealth of Virginia    Va. Code § 46.2-341.26:3 
 

 
 

 

 

INFORMATION ABOUT CONSEQUENCES OF REFUSALS 
 

 The Code of Virginia provides that if you, whether licensed by Virginia or not, operate a commercial motor 
vehicle upon a highway in the Commonwealth and are arrested for a drug or alcohol-related driving offense in violation of 
§§ 46.2-341.24 or 46.2-341.31, if arrested within three hours of the alleged offense, you shall be deemed to have agreed, 
as a condition of such operation, to consent to have a sample of breath, blood, or both breath and blood taken for chemical 
testing to determine the alcohol and/or drug content of your blood. You shall submit to a breath test. If the breath test is 
unavailable, a blood test shall be given. If the arresting officer has reasonable cause to believe that you were driving under 
the influence of drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol, you may be required to allow the taking of a blood sample 
for chemical testing to determine the drug content of your blood, even if a breath sample was previously provided.  
 If you refuse to permit the taking of a required sample of breath, blood, or both breath and blood, and your refusal 
is unreasonable, your refusal constitutes a separate offense that will result in the immediate issuance of an out-of-service 
order prohibiting you from driving a commercial vehicle for a period of 24 hours and disqualification from operating a 
commercial motor vehicle. A first offense of refusal to permit the taking of breath, blood, or both breath and blood 
samples is a civil offense.  
 A finding of a first offense of unreasonable refusal shall result in the revocation of your privilege of operating a 
motor vehicle upon the highways of the Commonwealth for a period of one year.  This suspension period is in addition to 
the suspension period provided under § 46.2-391.2. 
 Subsequent violations of unreasonable refusal to permit the taking of breath samples may be criminal offenses. A 
conviction of unreasonable refusal to permit the taking of breath samples within 10 years of you being found guilty 
previously of driving while intoxicated or unreasonable refusal will result in finding you guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, 
which is punishable by confinement in jail for not more than 12 months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both, 
and will also result in the court suspending your privilege to drive for a period of 3 years.   
 Subsequent violations of unreasonable refusal to permit the taking of blood samples within 10 years of you being 
found guilty previously of driving while intoxicated or unreasonable refusal will result in the court suspending your 
privilege to drive for a period of 3 years. 
 If it is found that you unreasonably refused to consent to a breath test or blood test, that finding may be admitted 

as evidence in a criminal trial for a violation of §§ 46.2-341.24 or 46.2-341.31 for the purpose of explaining the absence at 

trial of a chemical test of such sample or for the purpose of rebuttal. When admitted in a criminal trial for a violation of §§ 

46.2-341.24 or 46.2-341.31 this evidence will not be considered as evidence of your guilt. 
 

 
 

 

 

DECLARATION AND ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF ARRESTING OFFICER 

 

 I,  .................................................................................................................................... , an arresting officer in the City/County/Town of 
 NAME 

 

 ...................................................................................................................................., Virginia, do hereby certify that I have read this form to 

   

 .................................................................................................................................................................. , who has been arrested pursuant to Virginia 
 PERSON ARRESTED 

Code §§ 46.2-341.24 or 46.2-341.31, and who, after having this form read to him has refused to permit the taking of  

a [  ] breath sample and/or [  ] blood sample.  
 

[  ] The person arrested has been convicted of  .......................................................  violation(s) of §§ 46.2-341.26:3, any offense 
 NUMBER OF CONVICTIONS 

 described in 18.2-270 (E), 46.2-341.24 or 46.2-341.31 within the last 10 years.  

 

 ............................................................................................   __________________________________________________________  
 DATE SIGNATURE OF ARRESTING OFFICER 

 

The arresting officer acknowledged under oath before me that he or she had read this form to the person named 

above. 

 

 ............................................................................................   __________________________________________________________  
 DATE MAGISTRATE 


