Deferred Payment Agreement Guidelines and Policy for Court Costs, Fines and
, Restitution Virginia State Code §19.2-354 et. seq.
J/ : A
Fines, costs and/or restitution Ordered by this Court are assessed against individuals convicted
of a felony, misdemeanor or traffic infraction. Fines, costs and/or restitution are due when
imposed by the Court unless the defendant enters into a Deferred/instaliment payment

agreement or if otherwise Ordered by the Court.

Judgment(s) for the amount of fines, costs and/or restitution are entered against the defendant
and interest accrues on the balance due. Judgments are docketed ir, the Judgment Lien Docket
Book in the Clerk’s Office.

Individuals who do not promptly pay the ordered amounts when due may be subject to the
following: . '
¢ Unpaid fines and court costs reported to the Amherst County Commonwealth’s Attorney
and the Department of Taxation for debt collection.

A Deferred/Installment payment agreement for fines/costs/restitution will be completed in the-
Circuit Court Clerk’s Office. If full payment is made on the date of trial/sentencing, no judgment
will be entered. If the fines/costs/restitution are unpaid after 30 days, a deferred/instaliment
payment agreement will be initiated, with a minimum monthly payment requirement. If the
payment agreement is initiated upon non-payment after the 30 days or if the defendant is
Ordered into a new payment agreement by the Court, all previous unpaid accounts shall be
included.

Upon default of the payment agreement, the Clerk may require a ”down payment”, prior to the
entry of a subsequent payment agreement, not to exceed 10% of the amount of fines and costs
(if the amount is $500.00 or less) or the greater of 5% of the amount of fines and costs or $50 (if
the amount is greater than $500.00), IN ADDITION TO THE REGULAR MINMUM PAYMENT OF
TWENTY-FIVE DOLLARS ($25.00).

At any time during the duration of the payment agreement, the Defendant may request a
modification of the agreement in writing. The Court may grant such modification based on a
good-faith showing of need.

All monthly payments are DUE on the date as specified in the payment agreement and must
be paid ON or BEFORE the due date

OFailure to pay fines, costs and/or restltutlon will result in Debt Collection and Interest
Accrual.0

(effective July 1, 2019) Deborah Coffey Mozingo, Clerk of Court '
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VIRGINIA IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF AMHERST COUNTY

IN RE: DEFERRED PAYMENT AGREEMENT GUIDELINES AND PROCEDURES
FOR COSTS, RESTITUTION, AND FINES

ORDER

The Court hereby ORDERS that the minimum payment for entry into an Installment
payment agreement will be $25.00 (Twenty Five Dollars) per month.

The initial $25.00 (Twenty Five Dollars) shall be paid at the time of entry into an initial
Installment payment agreement with the Clerk’s Office of this Court, pursuant to Virginia Code
Section 19.2-354 et. seq., unless the installment agreement is entered into at the time of final
disposition/sentencing of a defendant.

The Court FURTHER ORDERS, in all criminal and traffic cases before this Court
unless otherwise Ordered, that any and all defendants Who have been Ordered by the Court to
pay restitution, fines, or costs, who are unable to pay the restitution, fines or costs within 30 days
of final disposition/sentencing shall enter into an installment payment agreement with the Clerk
of this Court, and all previous unpaid accounts shall be included.

The Court ORDERS that the Clerk shall provide the defendant with an
Acknowledgement/Order and Notice of Deferred Payment or Installment Payments form upon
final disposition/sentencing of the defendant, and the Clerk shall not require the defendant to
complete the “Financial Statement — Eligibility Determination.”

Any request for subsequent payment agreement as a result of a default may be referred to
the Judge of this Court for consideration. Upon default of a payment agreement, the Clerk may
require a “down-payment” pursuant to Virginia Code Section 19.2-354 et. seq. and the Rules of
the Supreme Court of Virginia, prior to re-entry into a payment agreement.

Payments accepted by the Clerk of the Court, pursuant to a payment agreement, shall be
applied first to any restitution obligation, unless otherwise Ordered by the Court.

>3 -
Enter this day of July, 2019.

Z v}

MICHAEL T. GARRETT,  Judge




COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA Case No(s).
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1. ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF DRIVER’S LICENSE

I acknowledge that I have been notified that my driver’s license/driving privilege:

[ ] is suspended or revoked for @ period Of ......occerccecvurmssssmssnsrseennes EffECtIVE oot as a result of

[ 1 my conviction by this Court. .

[ ] action taken by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to Va. Code § 46.2-390.1 for the Court’s conviction or
finding of facts sufficient to convict me of violating the drug laws (Va. Code §§ 18.2-247 through 18.2-264) of this
Commonwealth. '

[ 1 Declaration by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles [ ] Adjudication by ...
that I am a habitual offender.

I acknowledge that I owe fines, costs, forfeiture, restitution and/or penalty of $ ..........vovvevoesre plus any additional court-
appointed attorney fee, if applicable. .

I further certify that on this date this notice was read. understood by me. and [ received a copy of thé same. and that my driver’s license
[ 1_WAS [ ]_WAS NOT _surrendered to this Court. Reason not surrendered: ................

DATE ) DEFENDANT

PRINT NAME OF Stemiarans e e neaeen,

DATE [ 1JUDGE [ JCLERK [ INOTARY PUBLIC

Notary Registration No. .......ceuvurireromeneenssenreninnenn. My commission expires: .............

READ PART I ON THE BACK OF THIS FORM FOR MORE STIPULATIONS, WHICH ARE INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE
AND ARE MADE A PART OF THIS ACKNOWLEDGMENT.

II. ORDER AND NOTICE OF DEFERRED PAYMENT OR INSTALLMENT PAYMENTS
SEE PART II ON THE BACK OF THIS FORM FOR FURTHER STIPULATIONS, WARNINGS AND INFORMATION
CONCERNING THIS NOTICE AND ORDER, WHICH ARE HEREBY INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE.

Upon due consideration, the Defendant’s Petition for deferred or installment payments is accordingly ACCEPTED, and the Defendant is

ORDERED to pay costs, fines, forfeiture, and penalty totaling $ .c.ocooevioveivevirrscsiceens ., plus restitution
totaling $ ..o plus any additional court-appointed attorney fee, court reporter fee, and interest, if applicable, by:
[ ] making ..., installment payments of $ ......ccoeerirennns |15 S, , beginning ... until paid in full; or

[ 1 making a deferred payment in full on or before

[ 1 Restitution payments are to be paid in accordance with the court’s ORDER FOR RESTITUTION previously entered.
If Deferred payment is not received by the above due date, or if the final Installment payment is not received BY e , the

defendant is hereby given NOTICE to return to this COUrt On e, Y S . m.

The total listed above does not include transcript costs and any costs/damages that may be charged if you appeal from this court.

NOTICE: READ PART II ON THE BACK OF THIS FORM FOR MORE STIPULATIONS WHICH ARE INCORPORATED
BY REFERENCE AND ARE MADE A PART OF THIS ORDER AND NOTICE.

- Entered this .......cceconenrcnree. daY OF oo e ) ettt raeeas

I have asked for and received a copy of this Order and Notice.

[ ]JUDGE [ JCLERK

DEFENDANT

FORM CC-1379 FRONT 07/19 (A194295 5/19)
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“PARTI

Bi understand that if I provide for payment of a fine or other monies due by a method other than cash and my payment fails, the Clerk

will send me a written notice of my failure of payment. A penalty of $50.00 or 10 percent of the amount of the payment, whichever is
greater, may be charged if the method of payment fails.

I further understand that, if I am convicted of driving while my driver’s license is suspended or revoked, I may be fined, sentenced to
jail, or both.

I understand that upon suspension or revocation of my license, [ may not operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth of Virgin}a
until: ’
(1) All periods of suspension imposed by any Court or the Department of Motor Vehicles have expired, AND
(2) The Department of Motor Vehicles reinstates my license (if suspeqded) or issues a new license (if revoked) after:
(a) I have paid the reinstatement fee (if any) to the Department of Motor Vehicles, AND
(b) I have met all other administrative requirements of the Department of Motor Vehicles.

PART II

I understand that if the Court has ordered deferred or installment payments, or community service to pay all or part of the fines and
costs, I must make all required payments or perform all community service on time.

I understand that: :
(1) as a condition of this agreement, I must promptly inform the Court of any change of my mailing address during the term of the
agreement; '

(2) if the fines, costs, forfeiture, restitution, and/or penalty are not paid in full by the date ordered, that the Court shall proceed
according to the provisions of Va. Code § 19.2-358, which state that a show cause summons or capias for my arrest may be
issued;

(3) the amount(s) listed in this agreemeﬁt may be administratively amended by the Clerk of this Court in the event additional costs
should be assessed and if additional costs are assessed, that the Clerk will forthwith issue a notice to me of the total amount due
by first class mail to my address of record;

(4) the Court or Clerk thereof may adjust the final payment date administratively, without further notice, for installment payment
agreements, if I fail to make a scheduled payment or for deferred payments, if I fail to pay in full by the date ordered, for the
purposes of referring the account for action pursuant to Va. Code § 19.2-358.

I further understand that if the Court does not receive payments as ordered, my case will be referred for collection enforcement
action under §§ 19.2-349, 19.2-353.5, 19.2-358, or 58.1-520 through 58.1-534 of the Code of Virginia. If my case is referred for
collection enforcement action under § 19.2-349, the amount that T owe and that can be collected will be increased to reflect the
additional costs associated with collection action. If any part of the amount due remains unpaid, pursuant to § 19.2-358, I may be ’
subject to a jail sentence of up to 60 days or an additional fine of up to $500.00.

Pursuant to Va. Code § 19.2-353.5, if interest on outstanding fines and costs owed to this court accrued during a period when I was
incarcerated, I may request that the interest that accrued when I was incarcerated be waived by this Court.

This Order and Notice is provided to the Defendant pursuant to Va. Code § 19.2-354. This Order shall not be spread on the Order
Book of this Court. )

FORM CC-1379 REVERSE 07/19



