VIRGINIA:

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE COUNTY OF HANOVER

IN RE: INSTALLMENT PAYMENT AGREEMENT GUIDELINES FOR COURT COSTS,
FINES AND RESTITUTION

Payment Plan Policy

In accordance with Rule 1:24 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, the court adopts the
following as a Payment Plan Policy for the collection of fines, costs and restitution, unless the
court orders a specific payment schedule for restitution as part of the disposition of a criminal

case:

L.

Any defendant who is unable to pay fines, costs and restitution, as defined in Rule
1:24, for a particular offense within 30 days of conviction, or other disposition
authorized by law, may enter into either a deferred payment plan, a modified deferred
payment plan or an installment payment plan, as defined below, to pay those fines
and costs.

“Installment payment plan” is a plan in which the defendant agrees to make monthly
or other periodic payments until the fines and costs are paid in full.

“Deferred payment plan” is a plan in which the defendant agrees to pay the full
amount of the fines and costs at the end of its stated term and no installment payments
are required.

“Modified deferred payment plan” is a deferred payment plan in which the defendant
also agrees to use best efforts to make monthly or other periodic payments.

All fines, costs and restitution that a defendant owes for all cases in this court may be
incorporated into one payment plan. Anyone seeking to set up a payment plan for
more than one case must inform the clerk of their desire to include all outstanding
fines, costs and restitution.

In determining the amount required for payment under an installment plan, the court
will consider the resources and other obligations of the defendant, including payments
owed to other courts, as required by Rule 1:24. The clerk of this court is authorized
to establish and approve individual deferred or installment payment agreements in
accordance with Virginia Code Section19.2-354(A)(ii).

If a defendant seeks to enter into an installment payment plan, a down payment is
required. If the fines, costs and restitution owed are $500 or less, a down payment of
10% of the amount owed is required. If the fines, costs and restitution owed are more



than $500, the required down payment is $50, unless a higher amount is required by
the court.

5. Upon request, the court may authorize community service in lieu of paying fines and
costs. Community service CANNOT be used to satisfy any portion of restitution,
including any interest owed on a restitution obligation. In accordance with Virginia
Code Section 19.2-354 paragraphs (A) and (C), the hourly amount to be credited
toward fines and costs is based on the federal minimum wage rate. In order to be
given credit for community service a defendant is required to perform community
service for a non-profit or government agency and provide sufficient proof of work
performed to the court from the supervising agency. ANY FALSE
DOCUMENTATION IS SUBJECT TO PROSECUTION.

For any request made, a defendant shall specify the type of payment plan requested, the amount
of down payment and either the amount of periodic payment or desired due date under the plan.

At any time during the payment plan, a defendant may request a modification of the plan, which
will be granted based on a good faith showing of need. To request a modification, a defendant
must file a written request detailing the basis for the modification. After default, any defendant
may re-apply to participate in a payment plan and will be permitted to enter a new payment plan
provided he/she makes a down payment as outlined in paragraph 4.

A payment plan will be detailed on Form CC-1379 and signed by the defendant. The clerk of
this court is ORDERED to provide each defendant with a written copy of the Payment Plan
Policy unless otherwise provided by the court.
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