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LTITUN PRINCE GEORGE CIRCUIT COURT

COURT FINES, COSTS AND RESTITUTION PAYMENT INFORMATION

Fines and/or court costs are assessed against individuals convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or
traffic infraction. All fines and court costs are assessed in accordance with the Code of Virginia
and are due when imposed unless the defendant enters into a payment plan agreement approved
by the court or otherwise specified in a court order. Judgment for the amount of fines and costs is
entered against the defendant and interest accrues on the balance due.

Payment plans are signed at the Clerk’s Office, Monday through Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00
p.m. or before a notary public if the payment agreement is signed outside of the Clerk’s Office.

The total fines, costs and restitution must be paid in full by a monthiy installment payment plan
set up according to the following guidelines chart:

Amount of fines and costs Monthly Installments:
$0 to $500 6 months
$501-%1,000 12 months
$1,001 - 33,000 24 months
$3,001 - $5,000 36 months
$5,000 + ' 48 months

There is a $100.00 initial down payment for the first agreement and a $200.00 down payment for
the second agreement. The court will allow a maximum of two deferred payment agreements.
Upon the second default, the matter will be referred to the collection agency, the Virginia
Department of Taxation. Guidelines for the second payment plan is at the discretion of the clerk
or his appointee and will depend on the amount previously paid and the amount still owed to the
court, If a payment schedule has not been ordered by the court for any restitution owed, it will be
incorporated into the above stated guidelines.

Individuals who do not promptly pay fines and court costs when due may be subject to the
following:

. Unpaid fines and court costs are reported to the Department of Taxation for Set-Off
Debt Collection: After proper notice, any tax refund or lottery proceeds due the defendant will be
sent to the Clerk’s Office to pay off the debt.

. Unpaid fines and court costs are reported to the Department of Taxation, which acts as a
debt collector for the Circuit Court.
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. Notice of any unpaid fines and/or court costs is sent to the Department of Motor
Vehicles, which will automatically suspend the defendant’s operator’s license if payment is not
made.

The following are accepted methods of payment for Fines, Costs and Restitution:

1) Cash

2) Personal Checks: _

Your name and address must be printed on your check and include your phone number
3) Company Checks from your employer

4) Money Orders, Cashiers Checks and Certified Checks

Make checks payable to the Clerk of Circuit Court
(DEBIT AND/OR CREDIT CARDS ARE NOT ACCEPTED)
OTHER INFORMATION:

Always indicate clearly to which account (case number and defendant name) payment is to
be credited. This information is important if there are multiple accounts for the same
defendant. If you do not know the case number, call (804) 733-2640.

If paying by mail, a self-addressed stamped envelope is required if you request a receipt.
In Person:

Payments made by made at the Clerk’s Office between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m,
By Mail:
Payments may be sent to:

Prince George Circuit Court

Post Office Box 98

Prince George, VA 23875




