VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE COUNTY OF RAPPAHANNOCK

IN RE: DEFERRED OR INSTALLMENT PAYMENT AGREEMENT GUIDELINES
AND PROCEDURES FOR COURT COSTS, FINES AND RESTITUTION
PURSUANT TO VIRGINIA CODE SECTIONS 19.2-354 & 19.2-354.1

ORDER

The Clerk may enter into and approve a deferred payment agreement, or a modified deferred
payment agréement, upon the following guidelines: :

1. The defendant must appear in person to enter into an agreement and no payment
agreements shall iriclude accounts that are 20 years or older.

- 2. The agreed upon monthly payment shall be no less than $50.00 per month unless
documented extenuating circumstances exist and is approved by the Court. In
assessing the defendant’s ability to pay, the Court shall use a written financial
statement, on a form developed by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court,
setting forth the defendant’s financial resources and obligations.

3. The start date shall not be more than forty-five (45) days from the date the payment
agreement is entered into.

4. Any default on the deferred payment or installment paymeént agreement shall allow
the Tax Commissioner to act in accordance with Virginia Code § 19.2-349 to collect
all fines, costs, forfeitures and penalties, including any Court Ordered restitution of a
sum certain. The failure to make payments as agreed upon will also result in the

suspension of the defendant’s operator’s license pursuant to Virginia Code § 46. 2-

395.

5. At any time during the duration of a payment agreement, the defendant may request a
modification of the agreement in writing on a form provided by the Executive .
Secretary of the Supreme Court, and the Court may grant such modification based on
a good faith showing of need. '

6. The Court shall require a down payment to enter into a subsequent payment
agreement, provided that the down payment required to enter into a subsequent
payment agreement shall not exceed (i) if the fines and costs owed are $500 or less;
ten percent of such amount or (ii) if the fines and costs owed are more than $500, five
percent of such amount or $50, whichever is greater. After such down payment, the
defendant may set up the plan in accordance with the guidelines above. I accordance
with Virginia Code § 46.2-395(B), and upon the condition therein, the defendant’s

- operator’s license shall be restored if the defendant becomes compliant..

7. This Order supersedes any previous payment guidelines Orders entered.

Enter this / é day of January, 2018.




