SCOTT COUNTY COMBINED |
PAYMENT AGREEMENT POLICIES

1. Thirty Days to Pay. Anyone owing court fines, costs, etc,, (*fines and gosts"), as part of a
conviction or other final disposition of a matter in this Court is allowed Thirty (30) days to pay
those fines and costs in fulf,

2. If You Need More Than Thirty Days to Pay. You must enter into a Payment Agreement with the
Court. If you need more than Ninety (90) days to pay, a one-time $10 fee is added to your costs.

3. Types of Payment Agreements Available:

(A} Deferred Payment Agreement
You simply agree to pay all fines and costs in full by a future date set by the Court.

| No installment payments are necessary.

(B) Modified Deferred Payment Agreement
You agree to pay all fines and costs in full by a future date set by the Court, but aiso
agree to use your best efforts to make regular payments towards the fines and costs.

(C) (nstaliment Payment Agreement
You agree to make a monthly or periodic payment of a set amount fowards your fines
and costs until they are paid in full. The Court or Clerk will provide a date by which
the fines and costs must be paid in full.

{D) Community Service Work
indigent defendants or those who are unable to realistically make meaningful
payments may request to work off their fines and costs through Community Sarvice,
if avallable, You are not permitted to “work off” Restitution.

4. Modification of Existing Payment Agreement. A person under an existing Payment Agreement
may petition the Court in writing to modify that agreement. An agreement may be modified upon a
geod faith showing of need.

5. Single Cost Agreement. Upon request, all fines and costs owed to this Court, even on unrelated
cases, may be combined for payment under a single Payment Agreement.

6. Those in Default on Prior or Existing Agreements. Tha Court will consider requests for a new
Payment Agreement even if you have defaulted on a prior agreement. Howaver, the Court
requires a down payment on fines and costs owed before allowing a new agreement. If gne's
fines and costs are $500 or less, 2 down payment of ten (10) percent is owed. If more than 5500,
a down payment of five (5) percent or $50, whichever is greater, is required.

7. The Court Authorizes the Clerk to establish and approve an initial Payment Agreement of up ta
twelve (12) months. Judge approval is required for agreements of greater than twelve months.
Upon default of an existing agreement, the Clerk may approve a new Payment Agreement of up
to ninety (90) days once the required down payment has been met, Judge approval is required for
any new Payment Agreement of more than ninety days following a default,

8. Suspension of Driving Privileges. If you cannot pay your fines and costs in full on your court
date, you must sign Form DC-210 acknowledging you understand that your priviteges to drive in
Virginia will be suspended, without further notice, by the DMV if you fail to pay all fines and costs
within thirty (30) days, or, fail ta pay according to the terms of your Payment Agreement.

ORDER: The above polidies are adopted for the Scott County General District Court and

Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court, pursuant to Rule 1:24 of the Rules of the Supreme
Court of Virginia, as of July 1, 2017,

Shawn L. Hines, Judge lizabeth Wills, Judgé




