

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

DARREL W. PUCKETT

VERESIA WOOD

General District Court of Halifax County
P.O. Box 458
Halifax, Virginia 24558
Telephone (434) 476-3385
Fax (434) 476-3387
Effective July 1, 2021

Collection of Court Ordered Fines, Costs and Restitution

Pursuant to Rule 1:24 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia and Virginia Code Sections 19.2-349, 19.2-354 and 19.2-354.1, Halifax County General District Court's collections policy shall be as stated below.

If paid in full within ninety (90) days of trial date, then no further action is required.

If defendant requests additional time (beyond 90 days from trial date) pursuant to Virginia Code Section 19.2-354, then one-time \$10.00 fee will be assessed to account and additional time granted up to six (6) months.

When entering into new payment agreement on accounts previously in default, down payment required as follows:

- 1. If amount owed \$500.00 or less, then 10% of total amount owed;
- 2. If amount owed \$501.00 or more, then 5% of total amount owed or \$50.00, whichever is greater.

Pursuant to Virginia Code Section 19.2-354.C, community service shall be permitted if requested in lieu of fines and court costs. Amount owed divided by current minimum wage amount. Required to perform minimum of 16 to 20 hours per week, unless in school, has valid medical excuse, or works part-time. In cases where above conditions apply, then required to perform minimum of eight (8) hours per week which shall determine amount of time allowed. Community service shall not be granted on any amount owed for restitution.

All requests for extensions may be made in person, by telephone or fax. Interest shall accrue 180 days after fines and costs assessed if defendant not on active payment plan. All delinquent accounts will be transmitted to Virginia Department of Taxation for collection and collection fee shall be added.