
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   TIME TO PAY DEFERRED PAYMENT AGREEMENTS 
 
Pursuant to 19.2-354 of the Code of Virginia, the Charlottesville/Albemarle 
Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court has authorized the clerk to 
establish and approve conditions of all deferred payment agreements, pursuant 
to guidelines established by the Court. 
 

• When a defendant appears at the clerk’s office on the day of court to 
make arrangements to pay fines/cost they have 90 days to pay 
without the assessment of the $10.00 time to pay fee. 
 

• If the defendant needs more time beyond the 90 days, the clerk may 
give them up to 6 months to pay their fines/cost. The account will be 
assessed the $10.00 fee for entering into the Time to Pay Agreement. 
 

• When a defendant request additional Time to Pay beyond the initial 
6 months they must pay 10% down when the amount owed is $500 
or less. If the amount owed is more than $500 then the amount due 
is 5% or $50, whichever is greater. 
 

• A defendant who enters into a Time to Pay Agreement shall promptly 
inform the court of any change of mailing address during the term of 
agreement. 
 
IMPORTANT: 
When this court has authorized a Deferred Payment or Installment 
Payment Agreement and the defendant fails to pay, then the 
privilege of the defendant to operate a motor vehicle will be 
suspended pursuant to section 46.2-395 of the Code of Virginia 


