CARROLL COUNTY JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS DISTRICT COURT
GUIDELINES FOR COURT FINES AND COSTS

These guidelines are adopted in accordance with Section 19.2-354 and 19.1-354.1 of the Code of Virginia, Rule 1:24 of
the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, and the recommendatlons of the Office of the Executive Secretary. These
guidelines are effective July 1, 2017.

A. COURT FINES AND COSTS

1.
2.

Court fines and costs are due within 30 days of assessment.

If you are unable to pay within 30 days, you may sign an installment payment plan, a deferred payment plan, or
a modified deferred payment plan. Depending upon your financial circumstances, the Court will give you
approximately 6 months to pay your fines and costs in full. You will be assessed a one-time fee of $10 per
payment agreement. If you pay your fines and costs in full within 90 days of assessment, the $10 fee that was
originally assessed will be removed from your account.

If you are unable to pay in full by the date listed on your initial payment agreement, depending on your financial
circumstances, you may request a new payment plan to pay your fines and costs in full. You must sign a new
payment agreement to receive an extension and pay a down payment. The amount of the down payment is
calculated as follows: If the fines and costs owed are $500 or less, the required down payment may not exceed
10% of such amount owed or, if the fines and costs owed are more than $500, the required down payment may
not exceed 5% of such amount owed or $50, whichever is greater.

You may participate in a community service program where community service hours will be credited to your
fines and costs. The rate of credit will be the federal minimum wage. You will need to file a Motion to Amend
with the Clerk’s office and appear before the judge for approval.

You may pay any amount you wish, at any time, during the deferred payment time. You must pay the full
amount by the date given on your payment agreement.

B. PAST DUE COURT FINES AND COSTS - YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE IS SUSPENDED

1.

If you have unpaid fines and costs in more than one court, you will need to pay or establish payment plans in
each court in order to remove the suspension of your driving privileges.

Depending upon your financial circumstances, you may sign a payment agreement for deferred payment in full
and pay a down payment. The amount of the down payment is calculated as follows: If the fines and costs
owed are $500 or less, the required down payment may not exceed 10% of such amount owed or, if the fines
and costs owed are more than $500, the required down payment may not exceed 5% of such amount owed or
$50, whichever is greater. The court will give you approximately 6 months to pay your fines and costs in full,
and you will be assessed a one-time fee of $10 per payment agreement if this has not been done previously.
You will be given a DC-30 which you can take to DMV to have your driver’s license reinstated if you have met all
DMV requirements.

Depending upon your financial circumstances, the Court will give you an additional 6 month extension if needed.
You will be required to pay a down payment as follows: If the fines and costs owed are $500 or less, the
required down payment may not exceed 10% of such amount owed or, if the fines and costs owed are more
than $500, the required down payment may not exceed 5% of such amount owed or $50, whichever is greater.
You may participate in a community service program where community service hours will be credited to your
fines and costs. The rate of credit will be the federal minimum wage. You will need to file a Motion to Amend
with the Clerk’s office and appear before the judge for approval. If approved, you will be ordered to perform a
specific amount of hours within a specific time period. You will be given a DC-30 which you can take to DMV to
have your driver’s license reinstated if you have met all DMV requirements.

5. You may file a Petition for Authorization for Restricted Driver’s License — Failure to Pay Fines and Costs (DC-270)
- with the Clerk’s office and appear before the judge to ask for a restricted driver’s license. You must provide
proof of employment upon filing your petition.
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If you change your address during the deferred period, you must immediat rovide the Court with a change
of address. %
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http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/jdr/pulaski/home.html



