
HENRY COUNTY JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS DISTRICT COURT 
PAYMENT AGREEMENT POLICY 

 
The following Payment Agreement Policy has been adopted effective July 1, 2017 in accordance 
with Section 19.2-354 and 19.1-354.1 of the Code of Virginia, rule 1:24 of the Rules of the 
Supreme Court of Virginia. 
 
Initial Assessments: 
 
Court fines and costs are due within 30 days of assessment/sentencing.  Any Defendant who is 
unable to pay the fines and costs within 30 days of assessment/sentencing may request to 
enter into a payment agreement with no down-payment being required.  The defendant shall 
have the opportunity to enter into a deferred payment agreement1, a modified deferred 
payment agreement2, or an installment payment agreement3.  In order to prevent a license 
suspension by DMV, payments agreements must be entered into before the initial due date 
passes.  A fee of $10.00 will be assessed upon entering into the payment plan.  If you pay your 
fines and costs within 90 days of assessment, the $10.00 time to pay fee that was originally 
assessed will be removed from your account. 
 
Defaulted Accounts: 
 
If you have unpaid fines and costs that have defaulted and want to enter into a payment 
agreement to remove the suspension of your driving privileges, you may fill out form DC-211 
Petition for Payment Agreement for Fines and Costs or Request of Modify Existing Agreement. 
The Court will require you to pay a down-payment as follows: 

If the fines and costs owed are $500.00 or less, the required down payment may not 
exceed 10% of the amount owed. 
If the fines and costs owed are more than $500.00, the required down payment may not 
exceed 5% of the amount owed or $50.00, whichever is greatest. 

You will be assessed a one-time $10.00 time to pay fee if it had not been previously assessed on 
the outstanding account.  You will be given a DC-30, which you can take to DMV to have your 
driver’s license reinstated if you have met all DMV requirements. 
All fines and costs subject to the collection process may be incorporated into one payment 
agreement, unless otherwise ordered by the Court in specific cases.   
The defendant shall immediately provide the Court with written notice of any change of 
address during the deferred period. 
                                                           
1 A “deferred payment agreement” is defined in the Supreme Court of Virginia Rule 1:24 as “an agreement in which no 
installments are required and the defendant agrees to pay the full amount of the fines and costs at the end of the agreement’s 
stated terms. 
2 A “modified deferred payment agreement” is defined in the Supreme Court of Virginia Rule 1:24 as “deferred payment 
agreement in which the defendant also agrees to use best efforts to make monthly or other periodic payments. 
3 An “installment payment agreement” is defined in Supreme Court of Virginia Rule 1:24 as “a plan in which the defendant 
agreement to make monthly or other periodic payments until the fines and costs are paid in full. 
 
 


