PULASKI COUNTY JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS DISTRICT COURT
GUIDELINES FOR COURT FINES AND COSTS

These guidelines are adopted in accordance with Section 19.2-354 and 19.1-354.1 of the Code of Virginia, Rule 1:24 of
the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, and the recommendations of the Office of the Executive Secretary. These
guidelines are effective July 1, 2019.

A. COURT FINES AND COSTS

1.
2.

Court fines and costs are due within 30 days of assessment.

If you are unable to pay within 30 days, you may sign an installment payment plan, a deferred payment plan, or
a modified deferred payment plan. Depending upon your financial circumstances, the Court will give you
approximately 6 months to pay your fines and costs in full. You will be assessed a one-time fee of $10 per
payment agreement. If you pay your fines and costs in full within 90 days of assessment, the $10 fee that was
originally assessed will be removed from your account.

If you are unable to pay in full by the date listed on your initial payment agreement, depending on your financial
circumstances, you may request a new payment plan to pay your fines and costs in full. You must sign a new
payment agreement to receive an extension and pay a down payment. The amount of the down payment is
calculated as follows: if the fines and costs owed are $500 or less, the required down payment may not exceed
10% of such amount owed or, if the fines and costs owed are more than $500, the required down payment may
not exceed 5% of such amount owed or $50, whichever is greater.

If available, you may participate in a community service program where community service hours will be
credited to your fines and costs. The rate of credit will be the federal minimum wage. You will need to file a
Motion to Amend with the Clerk’s office and appear before the judge for approval.

You may pay any amount you wish, at any time, during the deferred payment time. You must pay the full
amount by the date given on your payment agreement.

B. PAST DUE COURT FINES AND COSTS

1.

If you have unpaid fines and costs in more than one court, you will need to pay or establish payment plans in
each court.

Depending upon your financial circumstances, you may sign a payment agreement for deferred payment in full
and pay a down payment. The amount of the down payment is calculated as follows: If the fines and costs
owed are $500 or less, the required down payment may not exceed 10% of such amount owed or, if the fines
and costs owed are more than $500, the required down payment may not exceed 5% of such amount owed or
$50, whichever is greater. The court will give you approximately 6 months to pay your fines and costs in full,
and you will be assessed a one-time fee of $10 per payment agreement if this has not been done previously.
Depending upon your financial circumstances, the Court will give you an additional 6-month extension if
needed. You will be required to pay a down payment as follows: If the fines and costs owed are $500 or less,
the required down payment may not exceed 10% of such amount owed or, if the fines and costs owed are more
than $500, the required down payment may not exceed 5% of such amount owed or $50, whichever is greater.

If available, you may participate in a community service program where community service hours will be
credited to your fines and costs. The rate of credit will be the federal minimum wage. You will need to file a
Motion to Amend with the Clerk’s office and appear before the judge for approval. If approved, you will be
ordered to perform a specific number of hours within a specific time period.
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If you change your address during the deferred period, you must immediately provide the Court with a change
of address.
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