

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Shenandoah County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court 215 Mill Road, Suite 228 Woodstock, Virginia 22664 Telephone: (540) 459-6135

Time To Pay Policy

- Defendants needing longer than 30 days to pay fines and costs owed to the court may sign a DC-210 Time to Pay Agreement for a deferred payment. If the defendant needs longer than 90 days to pay, a one-time fee not to exceed \$10 will be assessed under revenue code 137 to cover the costs of management of the defendant's account until such account is paid in full.
- Due dates are to be determined by assessing the specific financial conditions of a defendant either by oral examination or by review of a DC-211 financial statement form completed by the defendant.
- A down payment will be required if the defendant needs an extension on their original payment plan OR if the defendant defaults on the original plan and requests a new plan; a new payment plan may be entered provided that a down payment is made as follows:
 - > 10% down for costs and fines totaling \$500 or less
 - > 5% or \$50, whichever is greater, for costs and fines totaling over \$500
- A defendant whose fines and costs have been referred to the collection process shall nevertheless be eligible to enter into an initial or subsequent payment plan but is required to pay a down payment as follows:
 - ➤ 10% down for costs and fines totaling \$500 or less
 - > 5% or \$50, whichever is greater, for costs and fines totaling over \$500
- Time to pay agreements may include multiple cases but shall not include cases 10 years or older.



COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Shenandoah County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court

Chad A. Logan, Judge James A. Drown, Judge Nancie S. Williams, Judge 215 Mill Road, Suite 228 Woodstock, Virginia 22664 Telephone: (540) 459-6135 (For TDD Users-Call VRC 1-800-828-1120) Fax: (540) 459-8286

Nikki W. Taylor Court Clerk

NOTICE: Virginia Code §19.2-354 Community Service Policy effective July 1, 2018

Fines and costs assessed against you in this Court for a conviction of a crime may be discharged by performing community service through a **non-profit**, **governmental**, **or religious organization** at the minimum rate of \$12.00 per hour.

Requirements include:

- Judge's prior approval of community service organization
- Court-issued community service form MUST be completed and signed by a supervisor at the organization receiving the service
- Community service form must be filed with the clerk's office on or before the due date assigned
- Failure to complete community service may result in a charge against you for contempt of court

You must apply for this consideration through the Clerk's office immediately following the imposition of fines and costs.

Chad A. Logari, Judge

Revised: 12/16/2022