COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

GENERAL DISTRICT Telephone
W. Parker Councill, Judge Southampton County Combined Courts g::) 633-2673
JUVENILE & DOMESTIC RELATIONS P.O. Box 347 (757) 653-2656

. Courtland, Virginia 23837 Belinda J. Jones, Clerk

Alfreda Talton-Harris, Judge
Robert S, Brewbaker, Judge

TIME TO PAY AGREEMENT POLICY

After appearing in court, defendants have 30 days to pay their fines and/or costs, but may
choose 90 days for an additional $10. If you initially choose the 30 days, then decide that isn’t
long enough, you MUST COME IN to sign a 90 day time to pay agreement.

If you need more time after your initial deferred date, we will check your account to determine
if you have been making regular payments. If you have been making an effort to pay, you will
"be given additional time. If you have not ' made any payments since your initial time to pay
agreement, we will require a 10% payment before extending your time to pay. YOU WILL HAVE
TO SIGN A NEW TIME TO PAY AGREEMENT WITH THE NEW DUE DATE.

Failure to pay fines and costs that are due MAY result in the court issuing a show cause
summons or a capias for the arrest of the defendant AND upon finding of guiit, the court MAY
impose up to 60 days in jail for the defendant to serve and/or a $500.00 fine, pursuant to the
Virginia Code section 19.2-358.

POLICY FOR THE RESTORATION OF PRIVILEGE TO DRIVE PURSUANT TO
CODE SECTION 19.2-354

A person whose privilege to drive has been suspended for failure to pay fines-and costs may
-have that driving privilege restored by entering into a DEFERRED PAYMENT AGREEMENT. This
privilege requires a MANDATORY APPEARANCE. After entering into a payment plan you MUST
go to DMV and pay them a reinstatement fee.

The following conditions must be met to enter into a deferred payment plan:

1. The defendant must pay 10% of the total outstanding balance due.
OR, at the discretion of the Judge [Tues. /Fri. before noon only), for good cause
shown, you may be permitted to pay a reduced down payment based on the filing of
a detailed financial statement. NOTE: SOME DOWN PAYMENT WILL BE REQUIRED.

2. The defendant must complete an acknowledgement of suspension form (DC210).

3. The defendant must provide:



a) Complete employment Information, verified by a recent pay stub.
b) Confirmation of Social Security number.
c) Current address,

4. Theterms of the Deferred Payment Agreement shail be determined by the
remaining balance owed by the defendant as foilows:

a) REMAINING BALANCE UP 70 $200.00 80 DAYS
b) REMAINING BALANCE $200 - $1,000.00 6 MONTHS
c) REMAINING BALANCE OVER $1,000.00 12 MONTHS

5. [fthe defendant fails to honor the Deferred Payméent Agreement, the Court shall
notlfy the Department of Motor Vehlcles of the default and suspend the defendant’s
driving privilege : ‘

The court may, AT THE DESCRETION OF THE JUDGE only, credit acceptable and properly
verified community service work towards the defendant’s obligation to pay fines and costs.

Your payment options are: check, money order, credit card or cash, If you come In person. You
_-can pay on-line, by mall, or in person. We DO NOT take payments.over the phone. Therels an
ADDITIONAL 4% fee for using your credit card (whether paying on-line orin person).

PLEASE NOTE: THIS PAYMENT POLICY DOES NOT APPLY TO.RESTITUTION. NO EXTENSIONS
WILL BE GRANTED BY THE CLERK FOR RESTITUTION OWED. IF YOU OWE RESTITUTION, IT
MUST BE PAID IN FULL BEFORE YOU CAN BE PLACED ON A DEFERRED PAYVIENT PLAN FOR
FINES ANDCOSTS.
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