Commonwealth of Virginia Commission on Mental Health Law Reform

Task Force on Civil Commitment

Chair

Mark Bodner, Esquire Special Justice Fairfax, VA

Co-Chair

Ronald A. Allison Executive Director Cumberland Mountain Community Services Cedar Bluff, VA

Members

Jack W. Barber, M.D. Director Western State Hospital Staunton, VA

G. Douglas Bevelacqua, M.Ed., NCC Chairman The Phoenix Corporation Williamsburg, VA

Paul J. Buckley, Esquire Staff Attorney Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy Richmond, VA

David J. Carlini Director of Behavioral Medicine Prince William Health System Manassas, VA

Bruce J. Cohen, M.D. Associate Professor of Psychiatric Medicine School of Medicine University of Virginia Charlottesville, VA William C. Cummings, Jr., LCSW Crisis Intervention Director Richmond Behavioral Health Authority Richmond, VA

John Dool, RN, MSN HPR V Reinvestment Project Director Hampton-Newport News Community Services Board Newport News, VA

Pete Earley Author Fairfax, VA

Alex R. Gulotta, Esquire Executive Director Legal Aid Justice Center Charlottesville, VA

Michael Hendricks, Ph.D. Independent Evaluator Washington Psychological Center Washington, DC

Jane D. Hickey, Esquire Senior Assistant Attorney General and Chief of Health Services Section Office of the Attorney General Richmond, VA

Thomas A. Howell, Esquire Special Justice Harrisonburg, VA

Alison Hymes, M.S. Secretary Virginia Mental Health Planning Council Charlottesville, VA Commission on Mental Health Law Reform Task Force on Civil Commitment

Gregory E. Lucyk, Esquire Chief Staff Attorney Supreme Court of Virginia Richmond, VA

John Monahan John S. Shannon Distinguished Professor of Law, Professor of Psychology and Psychiatric Medicine School of Law University of Virginia Charlottesville, VA

The Honorable Gabriel A. Morgan Sheriff City of Newport News Newport News, VA

Michael D. O'Connor, L.C.S.W. Executive Director Henrico Area Mental Health & Retardation Services Glen Allen, VA

Raymond R. Ratke Deputy Commissioner Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services Richmond, VA Rita Romano, LCSW Emergency Services Division Manager Prince William County Community Services Board Manassas, VA

Sherry Rose Fairfax, VA

Sherry Sanders, LCSW Coordinator of Crisis Services Cumberland Mountain Community Services Cedar Bluff, VA

John D. Snook, Esquire Legislative and Policy Counsel Treatment Advocacy Center Arlington, VA

William Robert Walman Chief Magistrate Second-A Judicial District Accomack, VA