Commonwealth of Virginia Commission on Mental Health Law Reform

Task Force on Empowerment and Self Determination

Chair

Terry Grimes, Ed.D.

President

Empowerment for Healthy Minds

Blacksburg, VA

Co-Chair

Vicky Mitchell Fisher, Ph.D., RN,

APRN

Director of Nursing

Catawba Hospital

Roanoke, VA

Members

Charles Thomas Collins, Esquire

Regional Advocate

Office of Human Rights

Western State Hospital

Staunton, VA

Charles M. Davis, M.D.

Director

Central State Hospital

Petersburg, VA

H. William Farrington

President

NAMI Virginia

Richmond, VA

Michael R. Gray, Esquire

Staff Attorney

Virginia Office of Protection and

Advocacy

Roanoke Extension Field Office

Roanoke, VA

Judith D. Hines

President

Friends of Loudoun Mental Health

Leesburg, VA

Cynthia L. Kemp

Executive Director

Arlington Community Services Board

Arlington, VA

David Mangano

Strategic Manager, Consumer and

Family Affairs

Chesterfield Community Services Board

Chesterfield, VA

James M. Martinez, Jr.

Director, Office of Mental Health

Services

Department of Mental Health, Mental

Retardation and Substance Abuse

Services

Richmond, VA

Kenneth N. Moore

Consumer Advocate

Region Ten Community Service Board

Charlottesville, VA

Carolyn L. Peterson, LCSW

Director of Care Coordination and

Recovery Services

Highlands Community Services

Bristol, VA

Henry A. Smith, LCSW

Director of Mental Health Services

Cumberland Mountain Community

Services

Cedar Bluff, VA

Karen A.D. Walters, Esquire

Special Counsel

Office of the Attorney General

Richmond, VA