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VIRGINIA: 

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR CAROLINE COUNTY 

ORDER 

Pursuant to Virginia Code § 19.2-354.1 and Rule 1:24 of the Supreme Court of 

Virginia the policy of the Caroline County Circuit Court concerning the payment of fines, 

costs and restitution is as follows: 

Whenever a defendant convicted of a traffic infraction or violation of criminal law 

is sentenced to pay a fine, restitution, assessment or penalty and cannot satisfy the same 

within 3 0 days of sentencing, then the Clerk of Court is authorized to establish, approve and 

enter into agreement for satisfaction of same on the following terms: 

Any party unable to pay outstanding fines and costs within 30 days of conviction 

may request a deferred payment agreement for payment in full at the end of the deferred 

stated time period in the deferred payment agreement; or 

Any party unable to pay outstanding fines and costs within 30 days of conviction 

may request an installment payment agreement to make monthly payments until paid in full; 

Application for deferred payment or installment payment shall require application 

by written financial statement on a form provided by the Clerk of Court; 

In the case of an installment agreement for total fines and costs of less than $500.00 

the down payment shall not exceed . 1 0% of the amount owed. If the fines and costs are 

more than $500.00 the required down payment will not exceed 5% of the amount owed. 

The requirement of a down payment is discretionary with the Court on initial installment 

plans. 
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A party who has entered into a payment agreement may request a modification of 

the agreement in writing on a form provided by the Clerk of Court. 

A party who defaults on a payment plan may apply for a new payment plan on 

written application. A down payment will be required. Any default will also result in 

notification by the Clerk of Court to the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

A party who is unable to pay fines and costs may apply by written financial 

statement to perform community service for a nonprofit charity to defray fines and costs. 

Community Service will defray fines/costs at $10.00 per hour and must be verified in Court 

or in writing by a third party on letterhead. 

No community service may be used to defray restitution. 

Any party violating a payment agreement will be subject to a suspension of their 

driver's license pursuant to Virginia Code §46.2-395. 

This policy is to be posted in the Office of the Circuit Court and on the Court web 

site as required by Virginia Code§ 19.2-354(A). This Order is effective as ofJuly 1, 2017. 

Entered this 3 0 -J~ day of June, 2017 
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SARAH L. DEN:E)JDGE 




