Cm24-103

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE COUNTY OF GREENE

IN RE:

DEFERRED OR INSTALLMENT PAYMENT AGREEMENT GUIDELINES
AND PROCEDURE FOR COURT COSTS, FINES AND RESTITUTION
PURSUANT TO VIRGINIA CODE SECTIONS 19.2-354 & 19.2-354.1

ORDER

The Clerk may enter into and approve a deferred payment agreement, an installment payment
agreement, or a modified deferred payment agreement, upon the following guidelines:

1.

The defendant must appear in person and submit form DC-211 to enter into an
agreement. All fines and costs that a defendant owes for all cases may be incorporated
into one payment agreement, unless otherwise ordered by the Court in specific cases. A
payment agreement shall include only those outstanding fines and costs for which the
limitations period set forth in Virginia Code § 19.2-341 has not run.

The agreed upon monthly payment shall be no less than $50.00 per month unless
documented extenuating circumstances exist and is approved by the Court. In assessing
the defendant’s ability to pay, the Court shall use a written financial statement, on a form
developed by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court, setting forth the defendant’s
financial resources and obligations.

The start date shall not be more than forty-five (45) days from the date the payment
agreement is entered into.

Any default on the deferred payment or installment payment agreement shall allow the
Tax Commissioner to act in accordance with Virginia Code § 19.2-349 to collect all
fines, costs, forfeitures, and penalties, including any Court Ordered restitution of a sum
certain.

At any time during the duration of a payment agreement, the defendant may request a
modification of the agreement in writing on a form provided by the Executive Secretary
of the Supreme Court, and the Court may grant such modification based on a good faith
showing of need. '

The Court shall require a down payment into a subsequent payment agreement, provided
that the down payment required to enter into a subsequent payment agreement shall not
exceed (i) if the fines and costs owed are $500 or less, ten percent of such amount or (ii)
if the fines and costs owed are more that $500, five percent of such amount, or $50,
whichever is greater. After such down payment, the defendant may set up the plan in
accordance with the guidelines above.



7. If your sole financial resource is a Social Security benefit or Supplemental Security
Income and you have acknowledged such on signed form, then you are not required to
pay until you have another resource of income. As long as your sole income remains
unchanged, your account(s) will not go to collections. However, any restitution or
restitution interest is not included in said exemption of payment and is due as this Court
has previously ordered.

8. Forms of payment accepted are cash (in person), checks, and money orders; all checks
and money orders shall be made payable to Greene County Circuit Court or Clerk of
Circuit Court. Also accepted are credit/debit cards in person or online, which shall
include a convenience fee of $2.00 for payments of $50.00 or less or 4% for payments
exceeding $50.00. Mail all payments to P.O. Box 386, Stanardsville, Virginia 22973.
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 19.2-353.3, the Clerk of the Court to whom a dishonored
check or debit/credit card was tendered may impose a fee of $50.00 or ten percent of the
value of the payment, whichever is greater.

9. The Court may consider requests for community service on a case-by-case basis.
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ENTER:

David M. Barredo, Judge

DATE: / p/ ‘5/ 2t

Nunc pro tunc July 1, 2024



