VIRGINIA:

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE COUNTY OF HANOVER

IN RE: PAYMENT AGREEMENT GUIDELINES FOR COURT COSTS, FINES, AND RESTITUTION

Payment Plan Policy

In accordance with Rule 1:24 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, the court adopts the following as a
Payment Plan Policy for the collection of fines, costs, and restitution, unless the court orders a specific payment
schedule for restitution as part of the disposition of a criminal case:

1.

Any defendant may enter into a deferred payment plan, a modified deferred payment plan, or an
installment payment plan, as defined below, at any time.

“Deferred payment plan” is a plan in which the defendant agrees to pay the full amount at the end of its stated
term and no installment payments are required.

“Modified deferred payment plan” is a deferred payment plan in which the defendant agrees to pay the full
amount at the end of its stated term and agrees to use best efforts to make monthly or other periodic
payments.

“Installment payment plan” is a plan in which the defendant agrees to make monthly or other periodic
payments until paid in full.

A defendant shall specify the type of payment plan requested for any request made. If a defendant
requests a deferred or modified deferred payment plan, he or she must also specify the desired due
date under the plan.

. All fines, costs, and restitution a defendant owes for all cases in this court may be incorporated into

one payment plan, unless otherwise ordered by the court in specific cases. A defendant seeking to set
up a payment plan for more than one case must inform the clerk of his or her desire to include all
outstanding fines, costs, and restitution.

At any time during the payment plan, a defendant may request a modification of the plan, which will
be granted based on a good faith showing of need. To request a modification, a defendant must file a
written request detailing the basis for the modification.

. After default, any defendant will be permitted to enter into a new payment plan, provided he or she

makes a down payment of $50 if the fines, costs, and restitution owed are more than $500, or 10% of
the amount owed if fines, costs, and restitution owed are $500 or less.

In accordance with Virginia Code Section 19.2-354(A)(ii), the clerk of this court is authorized to
approve and establish individual installment payment agreements, including subsequent payment
agreements, of $50 per month.

Any periodic payment amount of less than $50 per month and any request to waive a required down
payment must be requested in writing and approved by the court.

Upon request, the court may grant credit toward discharge of fines and costs through the
performance of community service work completed after sentencing. The community service must
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be performed (i) before or after imprisonment or (ii) in accordance with the provisions of Virginia
Code Sections 19.2-316.4, 53.1-59, 53.1-60, 53.1-128, 53.1-129 or 53.1-131 during imprisonment.
Community service CANNOT be used to satisfy any portion of restitution, including any interest
owed on a restitution obligation. In accordance with Virginia Code Section 19.2-354 paragraphs (A)
and (C), the hourly amount to be credited toward fines and costs is based on the federal minimum
wage rate. Community service performed in accordance with this policy is in addition to community
service ordered at sentencing.

For community service work performed before or after imprisonment:

a.

A defendant is required to perform community service for a non-profit or government agency and
provide sufficient proof of work performed and hours completed to the court from the supervising
agency on a document signed by the supervisor. ANY FALSE DOCUMENTATION IS SUBJECT
TO PROSECUTION.

To remain eligible for community service credit, the defendant must provide proof of completed
community service every thirty (30) days from entry of the order approving the request to participate
in the community service program.

After sixty (60) days of failing to provide proof of completed community service, the defendant will
be removed from the program, and will need to reapply for future participation. The defendant will
not receive credit for community service performed between the date of last report and the date of
reentry into the program. In addition, collection activity may commence.

For community service work performed during imprisonment:

a.

The work must be performed in accordance with the provisions of Virginia Code Sections 19.2-316.4,
53.1-59, 53.1-60, 53.1-128, 531-129 or 53.1-131.

The work and rate of pay must be verified by the Virginia Department of Corrections or
local/regional jail facility.

The rate of credit applied will be the federal minimum wage per hour rate, less any hourly wage
received from the Department of Corrections or local/regional jail facility.

In keeping with the legislative intent, the court authorizes retroactive application for work performed
during imprisonment if it is verified in accordance with the above guidelines.

In any case in which a defendant owes fines and costs and informs the court his or her sole financial resource is
a Social Security benefit or Supplemental Security Income, the defendant will be exempt from making
payments at least until he or she has another resource, and the case will not be referred to collections. If a
defendant informs the court he or she receives a Social Security benefit or Supplemental Security Income, no
payment toward fines and costs will be taken from such exempt resource, and it will not be considered in
determining the length of time to pay under a payment agreement and payment amount. Any restitution a
defendant may have been ordered to pay is not included in this exemption from payment and is due as ordered.

A payment plan will be detailed on Form CC-1379 and signed by the defendant. The clerk of this court is
ORDERED to provide each defendant with a written copy of the Payment Plan Policy unless otherwise
provided by the court.

Entered thisggt\ day of QUMJ\, 2024.
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Patricia Kelly, Judge 9
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