Clerk’s Office ,
Circurt CourT OF NORTHAMPTON COUNTY

Commonwealth of Virginia

W Oldest Continuous Court Records in America W

Hon. Lynwood W. Lewis, Jr. 5229 The Hornes, PO. Box 36 Lauren M. Brown

Resident Judge Eastville, Virginia 23347-0036 Morgan W. Doughty
(757) 678-0465 b FQ.X (757) 678—5410 Jessika N Pruitt

Traci L. Johnson

Clerk of Court tljohnson@vacourts.gov Yasmine S. McCain

Www.vacourts.gov

Deputies
www.co.northampton.va.us

GUIDELINES FOR CONDITIONS OF
SIX MONTH DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN FOR:

NORTHAMPTON COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT
5229 The Hornes, P O Box 36, Eastville VA 23347-0036

It is the policy of this court to allow 6 month deferred payment plans for accepted
accounts upon written request. Please review the attached stipulations that are
incorporated by reference with all Deferred Payment Agreements. In order for this court
to process a Deferred Payment plan for you, we must have your original signature, your
acknowledgement that you understand the driver’s license suspension information and
your completed deferred payment plan. Upon receipt and acceptance of the original
agreement and your initial payment, we will activate your account. It is most important
that you visit the Clerk’s Office to begin the process. If you need special arrangements,
please contact the Clerk’s Office at 757-678-0465.

In person cash or money order payments may be made at the Clerk’s Office. Visa, Master
Card and Debit Cards are accepted for all criminal payments (plus a 4% convenience fee)
in person and online.

Deferred Payment Agreements are good for six months only. You must make regular and
consistent payments throughout the six-month period to be eligible to renew the
agreement (if it is not paid in full) before the expiration date. It is your responsibility to
contact this office prior to the expiration date in order to renew it.

Should you have any questions, please call Northampton County Circuit Court at 757-
678-0465 between the hours of 9:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m.



PARTI

T understand that if I pay a fine or other monies due by a method other than cash and my payment fails, the Clerk will send n1e a
written notice of my failure of payment. A penalty of $50.00 or 10 percent of the amount of the payment, whichever is greater, may be
charged if the method of payment fails.

I further understand that, if I am convicted of driving while my driver’s license is suspended or: revoked I may be fined, sentenced to
jail, or both.

I understand that upon suspension or revocation of my license, I may not operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth of Virginia
until:
(1) Aill periods of suspension imposed by any Court or the Department of Motor Vehicles have expired, AND
(2) The Department of Motor Vehicles reinstates my license (if suspended) or issues a new license (if revoked) after:
(a) Thave paid the reinstatement fee (if any) to the Department of Motor Vehicles, AND
(b) Ihave met all other administrative requirements of the Department of Motor Vehicles.

PART II

I understand that if the Court has ordered deferred or installment payments, or community service to pay all or part of the fines and
costs, I must make all required paytnents or perform all community service on time.

"I understand that;
(1) asa condition of this agreement I must promptly inform the Court of any change of my marllng address during the term of the
agreement;

(2) if the fines, costs, forfeiture, restitution, and/or penalty are not paid in full by the date ordered, that the Court shall proceed
according to the provisions of Va. Code § 19.2-358, which state that a show cause summons or capias for my arrest may be
issued,; .

(3) the amount(s) listed in this agreement may be administratively amended by the Clerk of thls Court in the event additional costs
should be assessed;

(4) the Court or Clerk thereof may adjust the final payment date admmlstratlvely, without further notice, for installment paynient, if I
fail to make a scheduled payment or for deferred payments, if I fail to pay in full by the date ordered for the purposes of referring
the account for action pursuant to Va. Code § 19.2-358. o

I further understand that if the Court does not receive payments as ordered, my case will be referred for collection enforcement
action under §§ 19.2-349, 19.2-353.5, 19.2-358, or 58.1-520 through 58.1-534 of the Code of Virginia. If my case is referred for
collection enforcement action under § 19.2-349, the amount that I-owe and that can be collected will be increased to reflect the
additional costs associated with collection action. If any part of the amount due remains unpald pursuant to § 19 2-358, I may be
subject to a jail sentence of up to 60 days or an additional fine of up to $500.00.

Pursuant to Va.'Code § 19.2-353.5, if interest on outstanding fines and costs owed to thls court accrued durmg a period when I was
incarcerated, I may request that the interest that acctued when I was incarcerated be waived by this Court.

I understand that if my sole financial resource is a social security benefit or suppteniental security income, then I am exempt from
making payments at least until such time that I have a resource other than a social security benefit or supplemental security income. I
understand that I must contact the clerk’s office to-enter into a payment agreement if I have a different financial resource.

This Order and Notice is provided to the Defendantlpursuant to Va. Code § 19.2-354. This Order'shall not be spread on the Order
Book of this Court. ‘

Notice to Defendant:

If you are required to enter into an alcohol safety action program (ASAP) as part of the disposition of your case or as a condition of a
restricted driving privilege, pursuant to Va. Code § 18.2-271.1(B), you will be required to pay 4 fee for the program unless the court
has found that you are indigent and the court has reduced or waived the fee. Any restricted drxvmg privilege granted to you by the
court may be revoked if you do not timely pay the required fee. If ASAP is required as part of your restricted driving privilege, you
must enroll in ASAP within 15 days of your restricted driving privilege being granted.

Online Payments:

Payments may be made by credit or debit card via the intemnet for cases in circuit courts that aceept online payments. You may be
charfged a convenience fee of up to 4% or a flat fee of $2.00 per transaction. To make an online payment go to www.vacourts.gov.
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