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VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF SMYTH COUNTY

IN RE: PAYMENT PLAN POLICY FOR COURT COSTS, FINES, AND RESTITUTION

ORDER

Pursuant to Rule 1:24 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, the following are

the guidelines for payment plans for unpaid costs, fines, and restitution arising out of the Circuit
Court of Smyth County, Virginia, to wit:

1.

Any defendant who is unable to pay in full their fines, costs, and/or restitution for a
particular offense within 30 days of conviction, or other disposition authorized by law,
shall be offered the opportunity to enter into either (A) an installment payment plan or
(B) a deferred payment plan to pay those fines, costs, and restitution.

(A) An “installment payment plan” is an agreement by a defendant with the Court
for a defendant to make monthly or other periodic payments until all monies
owed are paid in full.

(B) A “deferred payment plan” is an agreement by a defendant with the Court for
a defendant to pay the full amount of monies owed (or substantial portion
thereof) at the end of a six month period and the defendant will make a good
faith effort to make monthly payments, too.

To apply for a payment plan, a defendant must appear in person in the Clerk’s Office of
this Court and complete both a “Request for Deferred or Installment Payments Form™ and
an “Order and Notice of Deferred or Installment Payments” [Form CC1379]. The Clerk
is hereby authorized by the Court to approve requests pursuant to the terms of this Order,
unless the Court has already ruled upon a defendant’s request or has already established
terms for a payment plan. The Court reserves the right in certain cases to make all
decisions regarding collections and approval of payment plan agreements.

Unless otherwise ordered, a down payment is required to enter into a payment plan.
For a FIRST PAYMENT PLAN, the down payment required is as follows:

If the total amount is $500 or less, a down payment of at least $50 is required.

If the total amount is over $500, it is a payment of 10% or $100, whichever is greater.
For a SECOND PAYMENT PLAN, 15% of the total amount owed is required.

For a THIRD PAYMENT PLAN, 20% of the total amount owed is required.

Requests for payment plans after a defendant has defaulted on their third plan must be
approved by the Court.

For installment plans, unless otherwise approved or set by the Court, all payments shall
be at least $50 per month and shall be due on the 25" day of each month.
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15.

A defendant’s financial resources will be taken into account in determining the amount
and length of time to pay. At any time during the duration of a payment plan, the
defendant may request modification of the plan by the Court, which will be granted based
on a good faith showing of need.

A defendant may be given credit for community service, provided that the defendant is
on active supervised probation and their probation officer recommends and reports the
completed hours to the Clerk for credit. One hour of community service may be credited
as $10 towards a defendant’s court costs and fines. Community service may not be
credited to restitution obligations.

For deferred payment plans, defendants who successfully pay as agreed shall be entitled
to renew their deferred payment plan for another six months.

If a defendant has obligations for multiple convictions, then any payments received shall
first be applied to satisfy the oldest case obligations, and then payments shall be applied
to satisfy obligations arising out of more recent convictions, in descending age order.

If a defendant owes restitution arising out of any case, notwithstanding whether it is an
old or newer case, then any payments received shall first be applied to satisfy all
restitution obligations. After all restitution obligations are satisfied in full, then payments
shall be applied to any unpaid fines and costs.

If paying by mail, the defendant must provide on the method of payment (such as on the
memo line of a check) their name as it was upon conviction and/or the case number(s).
Receipts for payments will only be mailed to a defendant when a self-addressed and
stamped envelope is provided with the payment.

As a condition of any payment plan agreement, the defendant must promptly inform the
Court of any change of mailing address during the term of the agreement.

Failure to make all required payments pursuant to a payment plan agreement shall result
in immediate suspension of the Defendant’s driver’s license. Additionally, the defendant
may be subject to a reinstatement fee payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Failure to make all required payments pursuant to a payment plan agreement may also
result in the issuance of a show cause summons or capias for arrest for failure to comply
with the agreement.

These guidelines shall become effective February 1, 2017.
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