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Collection of Court Ordered Fines, Costs and Restitution

Pursuant to Rule 1:24 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia and Virginia Code Sections
§ 19.2-2-349, 19.2-354 and § 19.2-354.1, Halifax County General District Court’s collections
policy shall be as stated below:

If paid in full within ninety (90)‘days of trial date, then no further action is required.

If defendant reqﬁests additional time (beyond 90 days from trial date) pursuant to Virginia Code
Section §19.2-354, then a one-time $10.00 fee will be assessed to account and additional time
granted up to six (6) months.

When entering into a new payment agreement on accounts previously in default, a down
payment is required as follows:

1. If amount owed is $500.00 or less, than 10% of total amount owed.
2. If amount owed is $501.00 or more, than 5% of total amount owed of $50.00,
whichever is greater.

Pursuant to Virginia Code Section §19.2-354C, Community service shall be permitted if
requested in lieu of fines and costs. Amount owed divided by current minimum wage amount.
Community service shall not be granted on any amount owed for restitution.

If your sole financial resource is Social Security Benefit or Supplement Security Income, then
you are not required to pay until you have another resource or income. As long as your sole
income remains unchanged, your account will not go to collection. However, you must complete
the necessary form to provide this information. Please understand any restitution you have
been ordered to pay is not included in this exemption of payment and is due as the court
has ordered.

All requests for extensions may be made in person, by telephone or fax. Interest shall accrue 180
days after fines and costs are assessed if the defendant’s not on an active payment plan. All
delinquent accounts will be transmitted to Virginia Department of Taxation for collection and
collections fees shall be added.
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