Virginia's Judicial System

Alleghany Circuit Court

25th Judicial Circuit of Virginia

Circuit Courts Informational Pamphlet


Hon. Debra N. Byer
email: [email protected]


Phone: (540) 965-1730
Phone: (540) 965-1738 Judges' Chambers
Fax: (540) 965-1732
Fax: (540) 965-1737 (Judges' Chambers)

Clerk's Office Hours

8:30 AM - 4:30 PM


P. O. Box 670
266 West Main Street
Covington, VA 24426-0670

Cell phones are not allowed in the Courthouse.


  • Hon. Edward K. Stein, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. Joel R. Branscom, Chief Judge
  • Hon. Paul A. Dryer
  • Hon. Anne F Reed
  • Hon. Christopher B. Russell
  • Hon. Shannon T. Sherrill
  • Hon. Sean Calvin Workowski

Terms of Court and General Information

  • Terms begin, 2nd Monday, Jan., Apr., July, and 1st Tuesday after 2nd Monday in October.
  • Grand Juries, 1st day of Term.
  • Court convenes 9:00 a.m.
  • Commissioners in Chancery are utilized in general chancery causes when needed.
  • Cases are set by the Judge's Administrative Assistant, Brenda Lemons at 540-965-1738