Virginia's Judicial System

Bedford Circuit Court: Notary Public

The content of this page was provided by the Bedford Circuit Court and has been posted on Virginia's Judicial System Web site as a courtesy to the Bedford Circuit Court.

A Notary Public is a person legally empowered to witness and certify documents that are not a public record and to take affidavits and depositions.

Qualifications to become a Notary Public:

  1. Must be at least 18 years of age.
  2. Must be a legal resident of the United States.
  3. Must be able to read and write the English language.
  4. Anyone who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of the United States or this Commonwealth, or the laws of any other state, shall not be qualified to be appointed and commissioned as a Notary Public unless such person has been pardoned for such felony, has had his/her conviction vacated by the granting of a writ of actual innocence, or has had his/her rights restored.
  5. A nonresident of Virginia may be appointed only if he/she is regularly employed in the Commonwealth and meets all other requirements.

Application process:

  1. To become a Notary Public or to renew a Notary Commission, an online application must be completed, printed and mailed to the Secretary of the Commonwealth for new applicants or submitted online for renewals. Please visit Secretary of the Commonwealth for further information on the application process.
  2. After successful submission of an application to the Secretary of the Commonwealth, the Secretary of the Commonwealth will notify approved applicants when the Commission is issued and available to be picked up at the Clerk’s Office chosen during the online application process.
  3. Applicant must then appear in the previously chosen Clerk’s Office in person, take an oath, and pay a $10 Clerk’s fee.

Time Limits:

  1. Applicant has 60 days from date of appointment by the Secretary of the Commonwealth to take the oath at the chosen Clerk’s Office. After 60 days, the commission will be returned to the Secretary of the Commonwealth, and applicant must reapply.
  2. Notary commission is valid for four years.

Clerk's Office Hours:

Notary must appear for oath and submit $10 fee between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM.