Virginia's Judicial System

Norfolk Circuit Court

4th Judicial Circuit of Virginia

Circuit Courts Informational Pamphlet


Hon. George E. Schaefer
email: [email protected]


Phone: (757) 389-8942

Clerk's Office Hours

8:45 AM - 4:45 PM


150 St. Paul's Boulevard
7th Floor
Norfolk, VA 23510-2773

[email protected]


  • Hon. David W. Lannetti, Presiding Judge, Chief Judge
  • Hon. Michelle J. Atkins, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. John Raymond Doyle III, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. Mary Jane Hall, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. Jerrauld C. Jones, Presiding Judge
  • Hon. Everett A. Martin Jr., Presiding Judge
  • Hon. Tasha D. Scott

Terms of Court and General Information

  • Terms begin the first day of the month
  • Grand Jury is the first Wednesday of the month.
  • Civil cases set by agreement of counsel and consent of the court; scheduling orders are mandatory in most cases.
  • Civil and Criminal trials begin at 9:30 a.m.
  • Commissioners in Chancery are appointed in suits for accounting, partition, delinquent taxes, and judgment debtor interrogatories, and in other suits by order of the Court.
  • Local rules are adopted pursuant to 8.01-4; they can be found at
  • Uncontested divorces are heard Monday through Thursday from 9:00 a.m. to 11:50 a.m. and set through the Clerk
  • Final orders are sent to counsel by email and by regular mail to pro se parties and counsel for whom the Clerk has no email address. Self-addressed stamped envelopes are appreciated but not necessary.